Potato & Carrot Curry

I tend to do a whole lot of eye-balling when it comes to measurements, BUT since I am sharing this online I have rough estimates that you can work with, and tweak around to your taste. I am sure there are recipes out there that involve potatoes & carrots and incorporate the same masala blend, but trust me this is not off the internet. I just wanted to clean out the fridge before the weekend rolled in and had potatoes and carrots to get rid off – thus here is Beula’s Potato & Carrot Curry

I tend to do a whole lot of eye-balling when it comes to measurements, BUT since I am sharing this online I have rough estimates that you can work with, and tweak around to your taste. I am sure there are recipes out there that involve potatoes & carrots and incorporate the same masala blend, but trust me this is not off the internet. I just wanted to clean out the fridge before the weekend rolled in and had potatoes and carrots to get rid off - thus here is Beula's Potato & Carrot Curry

Summary

    Ingredients

    2 medium potatoes – peeled and cut into chunks
    1 onion

    Steps

    1. medium sized tomatoes (I decided to use the left over tomato puree, and it worked out fine)
    2. green chillies (jazz it up accd to your spice taste)
    3. fresh coriander
    4. garlic and ginger paste (tbsp each)
    5. tbsp oil
    6. mustard seeds
    7. jeera
    8. Spices: Tumeric, Coriander and chilly powder
    9. Salt to taste

    • Heat the oil in the pan, and add the mustard. When it crackles add the jeera, followed by the onions
    • Throw in the tbsp’s of garlic and ginger and let it all cook
    • Put it in your tomatoes and chillies
    • Next get your spices ready. Tsp of Tumeric, and add a bit more than a tsp of your coriander and chillie powder
    • Let it cook for a little bit
    • Just to speed up the process I put the chunks of potatoes in a bowl of water and microwaved it for 2mins. You can do the same with your carrots, and then I put the veggies in the pot – added a bit of water and some salt, and allowed it to cook
    • I served this with home-made chapathis
    Leave a Reply

    