Shrimp Curry

I know a lot of people who stay away from seafood because of the cleaning involved – well thanks to my mom who showed me how to clean all kinds of fish, shrimp and crab. I remember those days when we would go to the fish market in Kuwait and buy crabs and shrimp and I would clean and de-vein these delicious sea-creatures while trying to find out if it was girl or boy crab/shrimp LOL. My mom had an explanation back then, which I am not sure if she remembers, cause I don’t! To go along with that, she also makes the best fish / shrimp and crab curries, so if you stop over in Kuwait and its seafood season, ask her for a meal ….

Ingredients:

  • Shrimp – de-veined and washed
  • Onions
  • Tomatoes
  • Ginger and Garlic Paste (Tsp each)
  • Green Chillies
  • Cilantro
  • Lemon Juice
  • Tumeric powder – a pinch
  • Coriander powder
  • Chilli powder
  • Coconut Milk
  • Salt
  • Oil

Heat the oil in a pan, and add in the chopped onions and cook until they become soft. Next add the ginger and garlic paste, green chillies and the masalas.

After a few minutes, add the tomatoes and the coconut milk and bring to a boil. Add the shrimp and cilantro and cook until the shrimp is done. The color of the shrimp changes when done.  Add the lemon juice (I used half a lemon), give a quick stir and you are done!

Leave a Reply

