Vegetable Biryani

Here is a vegetable biryani recipe cooked in a PRESSURE COOKER. Definitely not time consuming, so give it a shot if you have a pressure cooker. I am using exact measurements of what I used to help those trying this for the first time

Here is a vegetable biryani recipe cooked in a PRESSURE COOKER. Definitely not time consuming, so give it a shot if you have a pressure cooker. I am using exact measurements of what I used to help those trying this for the first time

Summary

    Ingredients

    2 cups Basmati Rice –
    1 big Onion –
    1 Tomato –
    Chopped veggies (all colors)
    Green Chillies –
    1 tbsp Ginger and Garlic pase – each
    1/2 Fennel Seeds – sp
    Cardamom –
    Cloves –
    Bay Leaf –
    cashews
    Oil , Butter / Ghee
    Salt
    3 tbsps Biryani Masala –

    Steps

    1. I soak the rice in water before making a dish like this. So wash and soak the rice before you add it to the pressure cooker
    2. Heat some oil and a little butter in a pressure cooker. Add the fennel seeds, cardamom, cloves, cashews and bay leaf. Let it roast a bit and add in the chopped onions
    3. The aroma at this point is just so lovely, especially the melted butter!
    4. Add the tomatoes, green chillies, and the ginger and garlic paste. Give everything a good mix and let it cook for a little bit. Then add the biriyani masala
    5. A few minutes later add the veggies. You can use freshly cut veggies or frozen
    6. To cook rice, you use a 1:2 ratio. Since I used 2 cups of rice, I need 4 cups of water. I added 2 cups as I added the veggies to cook
    7. Shortly after that I added the next two cups of water
    8. Add salt, and check if you need a bit more masala
    9. I let this come to a boil and added the rice
    10. I put the lid on and let the pressure cooker do its job After TWO whistles, I turned the stove off
    11. Serve this hot with some home-made raita

    Leave a Reply

    