Bread Upma

We buy a loaf of bread each week, and we make toast out of it, use it for sandwiches and make french toast. There are weeks when we have left over bread and when I came across this, I had to try it. I have eaten UPMA which is typically made out or Rava (Semolina), but BREAD UPMA?! Definitely not …. SO on a saturday morning when I couldn’t sleep in but realized I had ALL the ingredients to make this, I headed over to the kitchen

We buy a loaf of bread each week, and we make toast out of it, use it for sandwiches and make french toast. There are weeks when we have left over bread and when I came across this, I had to try it. I have eaten UPMA which is typically made out or Rava (Semolina), but BREAD UPMA?! Definitely not .... SO on a saturday morning when I couldn't sleep in but realized I had ALL the ingredients to make this, I headed over to the kitchen

Summary

    Ingredients

    6 – 8 Bread : slices
    pinch Asafoetida : a
    1/2 tsp Cumin Seeds :
    1/4 tsp Mustard Seeds :
    1/4 tsp Tumeric :
    1/2 tsp Red Chilli Powder :
    1 Onions : chopped
    Spring Onion : chopped
    1 Potato : boiled , and diced
    1 tsp Lemon juice :
    2 Green chillies :
    2 tbsps Coriander leaves :
    to taste Salt
    can I started out by boiling the potatoes . You try the microwave as well

    Steps

    1. I cut the bread slices into smaller pieces with the crust on. You can choose to cut the crust off. Also: I used a multigrain bread, and I think it is much flavorful THAN white bread, plus its healthier 🙂
    2. Heat some oil in a pan. Add a pinch of asafoetida, cumin seeds and mustard seeds. After a couple of seconds, add the onions and spring onions and saute
    3. Next add in the bread slices, tumeric and chilli powder. Toss, so everything mixes well. I used tongs and not a spatula, just cause I didn’t want to squish the bread pieces when I toss it around. Add the boiled potatoes to this, and some salt and toss
    4. Sprinkle some water and allow it to cook. I let the bread brown a bit so it was nice and crunchy here and there
    5. Add lemon juice, green chillies (this added some surprising heat) and freshly chopped coriander
    6. Toss and serve hot. You can serve this with some ketchup

    Leave a Reply

    