Gulab Jamuns



Kingsley and I love gulab jamuns. I think back in the day when we crossed paths, we talked about GJ’s and boy we were pretty excited that we both enjoyed eating GJ’s. I remember the excitement in his voice when his mom made GJ’s too shortly after we got married. So I made us some that lasted for almost an entire week. Give this a shot – its just so easy to make these sweet dumplings..
Ingredients:
For the dumplings:
  • 1 cup Carnation Milk Powder
  • 1/2 cup all purpose flour
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 2 tablespoons butter -melted
  • Whole milk just enough to make the dough
For the syrup:
  • 2 cups Sugar
  • 1 cup water
  • Cardamom – 4-5 (gently crushed)
  • Oil for frying
First start by making the syrup. I have mentioned measurements, but you so don’t have to follow that. I like to to add Cardamom because of the flavor and smell! It will thicken eventually and when it does, your syrup is ready!
To make the dumplings. Mix the dry ingredients and then add the wet ingredients. The outcome should be a medium-hard dough. Make small balls by rolling each in your palms. I try to get them to be smooth all over, just cause it helps when frying.
When you have the balls made, heat the oil. I have it on high to get the temperature up, but I always put it in medium heat when I start frying just because it burns up (learnt this from experience). Don’t crowd your frying pan with the dumplings, just do a few at a time. I use a spatula (I use for frying) to gently move the balls around and thus help it get browned and cooked equally on all sides. After a few mins the dumplings will be done. Drain them on an absorbent paper.
I let the fried dumplings cool down a bit before I put them in the sugar syrup. We left the GJ’s soak in the syrup over night!
IT WAS DELICIOUS the next day and the following days until everything was consumed.
Leave a Reply

