Dosa (Indian Pancakes)

This post makes me extremely happy because I feel very accomplished that I achieved this at my age …. So what exactly did I do – I made DOSA BATTER at home …!!!! For those who have no idea of what I am talking about – its an indian pancake made out of rice and black lentil (urad dal). When I lived in the states, I would go over to the Indian grocery store and buy the ready made batter. Made my life really easy – but then I moved! When I moved I realized out here, you can’t go to the grocery store just to buy the batter! Why? They don’t sell it here

SO! An acquaintance of ours said that we can make it with rice flour and urad flour – this did not sound complicated, thus I gave it a shot with my very supportive and excited husband on my side.If you don’t have a grinder or a big and powerful mixer in your house – go buy rice flour and urad flour from the grocery store and make your dosa batter!Β Thanks to the person who gave us this info and the measurements πŸ™‚

This post makes me extremely happy because I feel very accomplished that I achieved this at my age .... So what exactly did I do - I made DOSA BATTER at home ...!!!! For those who have no idea of what I am talking about - its an indian pancake made out of rice and black lentil (urad dal). When I lived in the states, I would go over to the Indian grocery store and buy the ready made batter. Made my life really easy - but then I moved! When I moved I realized out here, you can't go to the grocery store just to buy the batter! Why? They don't sell it here

Summary

    Ingredients

    4 cups Rice flour –
    1.5 cups Urad flour –
    pinch Baking Powder – a
    Water
    Milk
    Salt

    Steps

    1. In a deep bowl, mix the urad flour with water. You will need to pour the water as you mix, so have a good amount of water near by. Before I tried this, I was told to mix the urad flour really well (sort of like you would beat eggs) to help with the fermentation process. When you start to mix in the rice flour, you will continue adding the water. Throw in that pinch of baking powder and add the required amount of water and mix until it reaches a batter like consistency. It should not be a thin batter!
    2. Usually after this process the bowl is kept in a nice warm place for a good number of hours before you can make dosa. Living in a not-so warm place, I did not want to turn on the heater and allow the batter to ferment and raise the electricity bill, so I filled a deep pot that I use to make my curries in with warm water, into that went the bowl full of batter, and I put the lid on. This helped the fermentation process
    3. I knew something had happened, because the batter rose and overflowed in the water. Also, it smelt weird πŸ™‚ That sort of freaked Kings and I out but I had that fixed by adding some water, salt and some milk. The smell got fixed!!!! I used my hands (fast mixing motion) to blend everything up than a spatula and I thought it worked πŸ™‚ you can always use a spatula and not your hand if that grosses you out – if you use your hand, make sure you wash your hands before you mix the batter πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚
    4. I cooked the dosa’s like you would a crepe on a griddle and served it with some curry
    5. You get a bonus of 3 pics for this post – or should I say ACHIEVEMENT!!!!! The first is of the batter in the bowl, next is a shot of how it looks when its being cooked and ofcourse the OUTCOME – the DOSA πŸ™‚

    Leave a Reply

    