Carrot Halwa (Gajar Ka Halwa)

I know few of my recent posts have been from the dessert department, but what can I do when I have requests from the husband. Carrot Halwa has been one of them, and I finally got to it this weekend. I have known this dessert to be something that families whip up for special events like a birthday or anniversary, I am guessing its not a common dessert because of all the grating. The muscles in my right arm got an amazing workout grating the carrots. The ingredients are pretty basic, so if you have a grater you should be able to do this! 🙂

I have provided measurements but the truth is I so did not follow this hahaha … Eye-balling is the way to go these days!

I know few of my recent posts have been from the dessert department, but what can I do when I have requests from the husband. Carrot Halwa has been one of them, and I finally got to it this weekend. I have known this dessert to be something that families whip up for special events like a birthday or anniversary, I am guessing its not a common dessert because of all the grating. The muscles in my right arm got an amazing workout grating the carrots. The ingredients are pretty basic, so if you have a grater you should be able to do this! 🙂

Summary

    Ingredients

    2 cups Carrots –
    1 cup Sugar –
    1 cup Milk –
    1/2 cup Ghee (clarified butter) –
    1 tsp Cardamom powder – – ish
    Cashews
    Raisins

    Steps

    1. Start by grating the carrots. I grated it fine so I had thin small strands, I don’t like them grated big. I was listening to a technical conversation between K and someone at home, so the distraction helped ease the pain with the continous grating. Heat a pot and melt the ghee. I know ghee is not the healthiest thing available but that is what gives the AROMA (which is VITAL!!!!!)
    2. Add the carrots and let it cook until it gets soft and the smell changes. It goes from raw to nice smelling carrots that have been cooked in ghee
    3. Next goes in the milk and allow it to cook until the milk is absorbed. Should take 15mins. Add the sugar and the cardamom and allow it cook
    4. It should thicken up after a little while! I tossed in the raisins and cashews that I broke into small pieces. You can also add Pisatchios if you like
    5. Serve this just as it is, or with some vanilla ice-cream on the side. If you have some left-overs, warm it in the micro before you serve it!

    One thought on “Carrot Halwa (Gajar Ka Halwa)

    Leave a Reply

    