Beetroot Pulao

As I mentioned in my other beetroot post, I always liked beetroot growing up because of its color (PINK) when mixed with yogurt. Kingsley bought some beets over the weekend, and I did not want to make another beetroot fry, I also did not want to steam/boil it , and I did not want to make beetroot halwa. I googled and googled and nothing great turned up as recipes… I took a risk and made a Beetroot Pulao … I put the fear of making PINK RICE on the side and went ahead… It actually turned out tasty. Kingsley had told me about him making beetroot rice when he was single for himself and his housemates. He would like to take credit for this recipe, but seriously I am very positive (and I KNOW he agrees) my pulao tops a plain beetroot rice 🙂

As I mentioned in my other beetroot post, I always liked beetroot growing up because of its color (PINK) when mixed with yogurt. Kingsley bought some beets over the weekend, and I did not want to make another beetroot fry, I also did not want to steam/boil it , and I did not want to make beetroot halwa. I googled and googled and nothing great turned up as recipes… I took a risk and made a Beetroot Pulao … I put the fear of making PINK RICE on the side and went ahead… It actually turned out tasty. Kingsley had told me about him making beetroot rice when he was single for himself and his housemates. He would like to take credit for this recipe, but seriously I am very positive (and I KNOW he agrees) my pulao tops a plain beetroot rice 🙂

Summary

    Ingredients

    2 Beetroot: Grated
    2 Onions: chopped
    20 Black peppercorns:
    2 tbsps Raisins: worth
    12 Almonds sliced:
    12 Cashews halved:
    2 tbsps Ghee (Clarified butter)
    20 Black peppercorns:
    2 Bay leaves:
    1/2 tsp Garam Masala:
    to taste Salt
    12 Fresh mint leaves – chopped

    Steps

    1. Wash the rice and let it soak in water until it is ready to go in the pot.
    2. Heat the ghee in a deep pot. Start by sauteeing the bayleaves and peppercorns. Next add the onions and saute for a minute. Then add the raisins, almons and cashews and let everything saute. If you have dried apricots and figs, you can add that too, I didn’t want this to turn out SWEET, so I just kept it to the raisins.
    3. Drain the water from the rice, and add the rice and saute for 3mins. Add 3 cups of water and bring it to a boil. Next add the garam masala powder – I have mentioned a measurement, but go by your taste. Add the salt and the mint leaves. Cover and cook until the rice is 50% done. I cooked this in a pressure cooker, so I just put the lid on and let it cook without a whistle.
    4. Once the rice is half cooked, add the grated beets into the rice and mix gently so you don’t mush the rice. Here is where the rice turns pink and I had fear creep up a bit, but the smell was actually good, so I ignored it. Cover and cook until the rice is completely done.

    I will make this again, cause it tasted good. Might add some chilli powder, so it gets a bit of kick. The rice was not sweet, so it didn’t feel like a dessert and it was perfect for a meal! Also, if you are looking for a pink food idea for a girls get together like a baby shower or bridal shower and the girl likes beets / rice – this is perfect LOL!

    Leave a Reply

    