Mommy’s Chicken Soup



This particular Chicken Soup is definitely one from gramma’s recipe list. I guess she made it for mom, and then mom made it for me, and now I get to make it. It’s gotten cold here, and I had to bring this recipe out because I wasn’t in my greatest self today and as I dragged myself out of bed this morning – I wanted just one thing – CHICKEN SOUP! and the one that mom made. Now I necessarily did not prefer drinking this growing up, but when it was made it was meant to be consumed in our household. Campbells or other instant soup had no place in our kitchen – it was mommy’s soup all the way through!

The unique thing about this soup is that its simple but yet powerful to drive away the sniffles.

Ingredients:

  • Chicken: Skinned and washed
  • Onion: 1 large chopped
  • Tomatoes: 2 medium diced
  • Garlic Cloves: 10-12 sliced
  • Ginger: 1 small piece
  • Spring onion: 2 sprigs chopped
  • Coriander: Freshly chopped
  • Tumeric Powder: a pinch
  • Coriander Powder: 1tsp
  • Chilli Powder: 1tsp
  • Pepper
  • Salt to taste

Important point about this soup – you cannot use frozen chicken. When my mom bought chicken to make this soup, it would always be a young tender chicken. Why? It adds to the deliciousness of the soup. Remove the skin and fat and put the chicken pieces in the cooker. To it add the onion, spring onions, tomatoes, ginger piece and garlic cloves. Add the three spices and a good amount of pepper.

Fill the pressure cooker with water until the chicken is well submerged. Add the required amount of salt. Give a good quick stir and put on the lid and close.

I let it cook for about 4 whistles, and turned the fire from high to medium and back while it was cooking. Let the cooker rest until the pressure was gone. Add the freshly chopped coriander, give a quick stir and serve hot!

Leave a Reply

