Veggie Burger



I have tried going 75% vegetarian and 25% Non-vegetarian, but I have never ever ordered a veggie burger in a restaurant. I don’t care how great the vegetarian burger might be, if there is a real burger I am in for the meat. Like many kids who were born and raised in the Middle East, I got to eat nice juicy burgers growing up. Before we got married, friends of Kingsley thought I would only make burgers and make dinner and lunch menus out of burgers, but much to their shock that hasn’t been the case (otherwise this blog would not exist!) I have been wanting to make a vegetarian burger and finally got the chance to do so today because I had lots of ingredients to make one. Here is how I made mine …

Ingredients:

  • Potato – 2
  • Zucchini – 1
  • Carrot – 1
  • Garlic Cloves – 3
  • Coriander – minced
  • Bean Sprouts – a handful, chopped well
  • Onion – cut them out in rings
  • Tomatoes – round slices
  • Avacado – cut
  • Lettuce
  • Paprika – 1 tbsp or more
  • Coriander powder – 1 tbsp
  • Salt
  • Pepper
  • Oil
  • Egg – 1
  • Bread crumbs
  • Cheese slices – your choice
  • Mayo
  • Ketchup
  • Hamburger buns

Boil and mash the potatoes, zucchini, carrots and garlic cloves. The pressure cooker gets the job in a few minutes. Add the minced coriander leaves and the finely chopped bean sprouts. Next add the paprika, coriander powder, salt and pepper. You can add your choice of seasoning. Give it a good mix and get ready to make your patties!

Beat an egg in a bowl. Make patties and it may not be the easiest to work with, but work it into a round patti with the palm of your hands. Dip it in the egg and cover it generously with the bread crumbs.

Heat oil in your frying pan. I made sure it was not piping hot, cause I don’t like to burn and go black – so it was on just the perfect heat and I let the patties cook. Since all the ingredients are cooked, it doesn’t take long for the patties to cook. Place on some absorbent paper.

Getting your buns together is based on what you like. I added some avocado, tomatoes, onions and lettuce. Add some mayo or even a thick salad dressing.

Leave a Reply

