Spiral Cookies



My inspiration for baking cookies was from a conversation over the weekend. I realized then that it’s been years since I baked cookies. My baking hobby began with cookies and then I graduated to crumbles and then to cakes and cupcakes and much more serious baking that I do not bake cookies anymore. When I was baking these cookies, I was telling Kingsley when I made a whole box of cookies and sent it to the US military base in Iraq. I was in high school and my dad took the 100 cookies that I had baked (and had not allowed no one at home to sample) to the military base in Kuwait to send it to Iraq. I got a response 2 weeks later from someone at camp saying the person the box was addressed to fell off a convey and broke his legs and he was being shipped home, but that the rest of the dudes enjoyed the cookies. I guess that was the last time I baked cookies, or at least that is what I remember. Well Kings and I spent a few hours with some younguns over the weekend and the topic of cookies came up – within 48hrs I made the dough and began baking. Baking cookies is SO easy, but since I had not baked, I was kinda rustey when I had to roll and slice these Spiral cookies. I would have preferred doing a PINK n WHITE cookie but I did not have pink food color at home (weird….) so its chocolate and vanilla (boy friendly! :)) We need to make two separate doughs for this cookie, but trust me it’s not complicated at all…

Ingredients:

VANILLA DOUGH

  • Flour – 1.5 cups
  • Butter – ½ cup
  • Sugar – ½ cup
  • Egg – 1 beaten
  • Vanilla essence – 4 drops
  • Salt – a pinch

CHOCOLATE DOUGH

  • Flour – 1.25 cups
  • Salt – ½ cup
  • Sugar – ½ cup
  • Egg – 1 beaten
  • Cocoa powder – ¼ cup

I decided to go old school and used no mixer, just went with a spatula and bowl on this one. I did not want to bring the mixer from the shelf and go through the cleaning afterwards. In a bowl, I whisked the eggs, added the sugar and butter and beat it well. Add the vanilla essence, salt and the flour. Mix well to form a nice soft dough. I remember being tempted to eating some dough back in the day, and I did that last night as well 🙂

Do the same to make the chocolate dough – the only difference is instead of the vanilla essence, you add the cocoa powder.

I put both the dough in separate baggies and stuck it in the fridge for 30mins or so, just so it can harden a bit for the process to follow.

30 mins layer, roll out the dough on a nice clean surface. Dust it a bit with flour if you think the dough will stick. Start with the vanilla dough, roll it out and do the same with the chocolate dough and place the chocolate over the vanilla dough. Roll into a log and slice into discs (1/2 thickness). Here is where I had the trouble LOL. I need to work on my disc cutting skills. As you can see my cookies are not the perfect circle 🙂

Transfer these discs to a non-stick / well greased baking sheet. Bake in a preheated oven at 175C (350F) – should be done in 15mins – Keep an eye on the cookies – they should be done when the vanilla dough starts to go slightly brown.

2 comments

Leave a Reply

