Channa Palak (Chickpeas & Spinach)

During the week we eat rice, different kinds of rotis, and different kinds of pasta. When I do chapathis like I did for dinner tonight, I don’t like to repeat curries and if I come upon a different recipe that uses an ingredient that I have a standard recipe for, I change it – that’s how this dish made it to the dining table. Garbanzo beans or Chick peas have been mostly used for hummus in my household growing up, but adding it to some spinach and serving it with some chapathis was not just easy, but healthy and delicious. Alright time to get to the recipe and stop the rambling because it’s late and I am exhausted today!

During the week we eat rice, different kinds of rotis, and different kinds of pasta. When I do chapathis like I did for dinner tonight, I don't like to repeat curries and if I come upon a different recipe that uses an ingredient that I have a standard recipe for, I change it - that's how this dish made it to the dining table. Garbanzo beans or Chick peas have been mostly used for hummus in my household growing up, but adding it to some spinach and serving it with some chapathis was not just easy, but healthy and delicious. Alright time to get to the recipe and stop the rambling because it's late and I am exhausted today!

Summary

    Ingredients

    1 can Garbanzo beans :
    1 bunch Spinach : (or with the frozen kind)
    1 large Onion : diced
    2 Tomatoes : medium chopped
    2 Green Chillies : sliced across
    1 tbsp Ginger and Garlic paste :
    1/2 tsp Cumin Seeds :
    pinch Tumeric Powder : a
    1 tsp Garam Masala :
    1/2 tsp Chilli Powder :
    1/2 tsp Coriander Powder :
    to taste Salt
    Freshly Chopped Coriander
    Oil

    Steps

    1. Heat some oil in the pan and add the cumin seeds
    2. A minute later add the onions, green chillies, ginger and garlic paste and sauté until the onions are soft
    3. Next add the tomatoes and the masala powders
    4. Add a little water and let this cook for a couple of minutes
    5. Spinach cooks realllly fast, so add that and let it wilt slightly
    6. Add the beans and cook until the spinach is fully cooked
    7. Add some salt and bit more water if needed
    8. Also if you need to add a bit of the masala powders to balance the taste do that, and let it cook for a little bit
    9. My curry did not have a thick consistency
    10. If you want it thick, just mash a bit of the chick peas and it should thicken up
    11. Serve hot with some rotis or rice
    12. Now wasn’t that simple for a quick dinner menu during a busy work week 🙂

    Leave a Reply

    