Whole Wheat Bread

During one of our grocery list conversations, I was telling Kingsley about how much bread I eat now than I ever have. He is a definite bread man! Back in the day, there was either the basic white or brown bread. When you get into the brown bread category, it was considered yuckey because of the taste. But God created people with some bread brains and now there are SO many kinds of bread. We are into lots of the multi-grain and wholemeal bread. Anything that sounds healthy and of course tastes good is bought and we don’t buy white bread. I have begun experimenting with making bread at home. To start with, we are going with a healthy recipe and that is WHOLE MEAL bread!!!! I am sure the more I bake, the more perfect my bread making skills shall become. I am glad that my 6 cups of healthy brown flour did not go waste and I ended up with a loaf of bread. I have added 2 pictures to this post because I was really excited when the baking was done 🙂

During one of our grocery list conversations, I was telling Kingsley about how much bread I eat now than I ever have. He is a definite bread man! Back in the day, there was either the basic white or brown bread. When you get into the brown bread category, it was considered yuckey because of the taste. But God created people with some bread brains and now there are SO many kinds of bread. We are into lots of the multi-grain and wholemeal bread. Anything that sounds healthy and of course tastes good is bought and we don’t buy white bread. I have begun experimenting with making bread at home. To start with, we are going with a healthy recipe and that is WHOLE MEAL bread!!!! I am sure the more I bake, the more perfect my bread making skills shall become. I am glad that my 6 cups of healthy brown flour did not go waste and I ended up with a loaf of bread. I have added 2 pictures to this post because I was really excited when the baking was done 🙂

Summary

    Ingredients

    • 2 cups lukewarm whole milk
    • 1/4 cup honey
    • 2 tsps active dry yeast
    • 1/2 cup warm water
    • 6 cups stone ground whole wheat flour
    • 2 – 1/2 tsps salt
    • 1/2 cup water
    • 2 tbsps butter , unsalted

    Steps

    1. Begin by mixing the flour and salt together in a nice deep bowl
    2. In a cup, mix the honey and milk together
    3. In another cup, dissolve the yeast in the 1/2cup of warm water
    4. Make a well in the flour bowl and add the liquid ingredients and mix to form a dough
    5. Knead the dough until it becomes soft and elastic
    6. You can use the ½ cup of water, but don’t add it unless it’s necessary! Add in the pieces of butter and knead some more
    7. When you think you have kneaded the dough well, place it in a bowl and allow it to rise – this should take about 2 hrs and will not double up like how all purpose flour does
    8. After 2 hrs, knead again, place it back in the bowl and let it rise again for 30mins
    9. Divide the dough into two, or 1 if you choose and shape it into a loaf
    10. Bake in a preheated 350F oven for about 45mins or until done
    11. The smell when the bread is baking is JUST DELICIOUS – I had to keep myself from opening the oven door to take a peek 🙂
    12. Slice and enjoy! I toasted mine a bit, and it was good (and tasted healthy) 🙂

    Leave a Reply

    