Beef Fry

During the Iraqi invasion of Kuwait back in 1990, my parents, sis and I were on a vacation and had to temporarily settle down elsewhere while the US defeated Saddam Hussein and his army. My mom came across a beef recipe because I had major cravings for the food that I was used to (sausages, hamburgers, Salami, chips and juices of all sorts). Whatever I wanted was in the Middle East, so mom and gramma (who would never eat beef) bought beef (closest to familiar food) and made dishes because I had apparently gone on starvation and resembled a stick almost haha

I have grown to love beef and though my parents don’t buy it much at home anymore for dietary reasons, we still enjoy our beef intake at a restaurant or if we randomly do make it. I married a man who does not eat beef – I consider him a safe eater while he thinks I am a true carnivore because I eat everything LOL.   Beef is not eaten in certain cultures and religions, because of beliefs. Strolling through the supermarket this week, I had to get some beef because I had a major beef craving hahah – it’s been half a year almost now since I made some beef at home

During the Iraqi invasion of Kuwait back in 1990, my parents, sis and I were on a vacation and had to temporarily settle down elsewhere while the US defeated Saddam Hussein and his army. My mom came across a beef recipe because I had major cravings for the food that I was used to (sausages, hamburgers, Salami, chips and juices of all sorts). Whatever I wanted was in the Middle East, so mom and gramma (who would never eat beef) bought beef (closest to familiar food) and made dishes because I had apparently gone on starvation and resembled a stick almost haha

Summary

    Ingredients

    strips Beef – cut into
    1 Onion – medium cut
    1 Ginger – piece chopped into pieces
    3 cloves Garlic – minced
    3 tbsps Soy Sauce – (or more depending on quantity)
    2 tbsps Chilli Sauce – (or more depending on quantity)
    1 Cinnamon Stick –
    to taste Salt
    Pepper
    Olive oil for frying
    Optional Bell Pepper –

    Steps

    1. In a fry pan, add some olive oil and let the cinnamon stick flavour the oil
    2. Sauté the onions, ginger and garlic until the onions go transparent
    3. Add the measure of soy and chilli sauce you require
    4. I just added a measurement, but its best to eyeball it for flavour
    5. Bring this to a boil, which should take a couple of minutes
    6. Then add the strips of beef and some salt to taste
    7. I put the fire on medium, so it slowly cooked, and roasted the beef pieces
    8. When its done, all the liquid should dry up and literally go into the beef pieces (YUM!)
    9. I did not add the bell pepper, but if you do, add it with the beef pieces, or a few minutes after because it does not take long to cook
    10. Enjoy it nice and hot!

    2 comments

    1. Beula I think the dish is called beefroast than beef fry because keralites fry the beef pieces in the oily masala before they add water.May be I am wrong but anyway I found ur recipe good as it consumes less oil.Good recipe

    2. Beula,,,,,Just seeing what you are up to and trying to get inspired for dinner…listen we kind of make the same thing except try adding some fennel, clove and a few cardamon to the cinnamon stick and oil initially…AMAZING flavor. PS it’s super hot here. Come over

    Leave a Reply

    