A loaf of Bread

After my first attempt with the wholemeal bread, I was excited about baking this. The outcome reminded me of going to 84East in Downtown Holland, MI where they give you this freshly baked loaf of bread with some garlic butter after you got seated. This recipe is a relatively easy loaf of bread to bake. The outcome was delicious! The bread had a very light crust and it was really soft on the inside. Perfectly baked and the taste was great. I am definitely going to make this more often. It wasn’t just easy to bake, but very tasty 🙂 YUM YUM! My measurements did not yield the same amount as my wholemeal bread (lasted for a week), this loaf lasted for a couple of days 🙂

After my first attempt with the wholemeal bread, I was excited about baking this. The outcome reminded me of going to 84East in Downtown Holland, MI where they give you this freshly baked loaf of bread with some garlic butter after you got seated. This recipe is a relatively easy loaf of bread to bake. The outcome was delicious! The bread had a very light crust and it was really soft on the inside. Perfectly baked and the taste was great. I am definitely going to make this more often. It wasn't just easy to bake, but very tasty 🙂 YUM YUM! My measurements did not yield the same amount as my wholemeal bread (lasted for a week), this loaf lasted for a couple of days 🙂

Summary

    Ingredients

    2 cups All purpose All –
    1/2 tbsp Yeast –
    1 tbsp Sugar –
    1/2 cup Warm Water –
    1/2 tsp Salt –
    Olive Oil / Butter to grease

    Steps

    1. Begin by mixing the yeast, sugar and warm water. Leave this aside for 10-12mins until it gets frothy. In a bigger bowl, mix the flour and salt. To this add the yeast mixture and knead away. If it gets sticky, add a little flour
    2. Once you feel you kneaded enough, put it back in the bowl and cover with some cling wrap and let it sit for an hour. After 60mins, you will notice the dough has risen, take the dough out and knead again. Do this for 10mins and try to shape it into a loaf or put it in a non-stick bread pan. Cover this again and let it sit for another hour. It will double in size again!
    3. An hour later, it is time for the loaf to bake. Dab some olive oil or butter on the top of the loaf. This apparently prevents the crust from becoming hard! Put your loaf in a preheated 200C/390F oven and bake for 20ish minutes until the crust turns golden brown. If you are like me, you will take a peek inside the oven a few times at least :). The smell when it’s baking is SO good. I did not tell Kingsley that I was baking bread, and he asked me a few times what I was baking because of the smell
    4. Slice and enjoy! Now wasn’t that easy – not as complicated as the Wholemeal. Did not feel like a lot of work!
    5. Look out for more bread experiments!

    Leave a Reply

    