Coconut Pinwheels

So… this is totally my recipe and I am proud to share it … YAY!!! I had to come up with something to bring to an Indian Christian group we attend each month. As always I had lots to get done on a Saturday, so I did not want to get my hands into an Indian dish that took a lot of time and cleaning afterwards!!! It took me a while to come up with some sort of recipe inspiration, but the result was good and those who tried it had positive comments. The ingredients may make this sound like a dessert, however this is definitely not sugary

So... this is totally my recipe and I am proud to share it ... YAY!!! I had to come up with something to bring to an Indian Christian group we attend each month. As always I had lots to get done on a Saturday, so I did not want to get my hands into an Indian dish that took a lot of time and cleaning afterwards!!! It took me a while to come up with some sort of recipe inspiration, but the result was good and those who tried it had positive comments. The ingredients may make this sound like a dessert, however this is definitely not sugary

Summary

    Ingredients

    Puff Pastry sheets
    Walnuts – chopped
    Brown Sugar
    Shredded Coconut
    Raisins
    Butter
    Fruit Jam / Preserves

    Steps

    1. In a bowl mix the chopped walnuts, brown sugar, shredded coconut and raisins. As you have noticed I did not mention the measurements, the reason being … yes you guessed it right – totally eye-balled this one 🙂 Just don’t go overboard on the brown sugar, a couple of teaspoons should work
    2. Brush each pastry sheet with some butter and sprinkle a generous amount of the coco-nuttey mixture. The quantity for the filling totally depends on your taste. Roll this into a log and cut into discs
    3. Place the discs on a baking sheet and bake in a preheated 180C oven until the pinwheels are nice and golden brown
    4. While the baking was going on, I made the glaze. Gently whisk some fruit jam of your choice over medium heat until melted
    5. Once the pinwheels are out of the oven, let it cool slightly and then glaze way
    6. These definitely would go great with a cup of tea or coffee 🙂

    One thought on “Coconut Pinwheels

    Leave a Reply

    