Tomato Rice

Growing up I was never a fan of Tomato Rice. My mom did not make this much, but I remember my aunt and gramma making this. I never ate it when this was brought to the table. There was something about tomatoes that I did not like. Over the years I have grown out of that, and now I love eating raw tomatoes too. Making tomato rice on one of those busy week days is a perfect idea for lunch. This recipe uses basic ingredients from your pantry, so if you have a can of tomatoes and a few spices your tomato rice is done. I have tried two ways of making this – one by making the sauce and then mixing it with cooked rice, and the other is cooking in a pressure cooker

Growing up I was never a fan of Tomato Rice. My mom did not make this much, but I remember my aunt and gramma making this. I never ate it when this was brought to the table. There was something about tomatoes that I did not like. Over the years I have grown out of that, and now I love eating raw tomatoes too. Making tomato rice on one of those busy week days is a perfect idea for lunch. This recipe uses basic ingredients from your pantry, so if you have a can of tomatoes and a few spices your tomato rice is done. I have tried two ways of making this - one by making the sauce and then mixing it with cooked rice, and the other is cooking in a pressure cooker

Summary

    Ingredients

    2 cups Rice:
    Can of 3 Tomatoes or large well ripened tomatoes
    1 Onion – medium diced
    2 Green Chillies – slit lengthwise
    1 inch Ginger – chopped fine
    1 tsp Mustard Seeds –
    1 Cinnamon stick –
    1 tbsp Garam Masala –
    2 tsps Coriander Powder –
    1 tsp Cumin Powder –
    pinch Turmeric Powder – a
    to taste Salt
    Oil
    Freshly Chopped Coriander for garnish

    Steps

    1. In a deep pot or a pressure cooker, add some mustard seeds and the green chillies to some heated oil. When the seeds start popping add a small piece of a cardamom stick (flavour!!), onions and the minced ginger and sauté
    2. Next add the masalas and the tomatoes and give it a good mix and allow it to cook for a while. I have mentioned measurements for the masala powders, but you can always add more if you like
    3. If you are not cooking in a pressure cooker, at this point you will just need to let this cook till it becomes into a thick sauce. If you are not getting a sauce of it, add some water. Using a can of tomatoes would not require extra water. Add some salt, and then add the boiled rice, gently mix it and serve
    4. When I made this, I decided to use a pressure cooker. So when the tomato mixture began to boil, I added the two cups of washed rice. Added the cups of water. Check if you need to add some masala powders. If not, just add some salt, give it a good mix. Put the lid on and when a whistle goes off – turn off the stove
    5. Once the pressure goes off, transfer to a serving bowl, garnish with some freshly chopped coriander leaves and SERVE!
    6. Though this dish is wholesome, it is usually served with a side dish. You can serve it with some boiled eggs or a potato fry (recipe on the blog!)

    Leave a Reply

    