Carrot Raita

I don’t have a big long story behind this recipe but here is another Raita recipe you could use instead of the usual cucumber-onion raita. My mom would made this when I was growing up and I decided to make this to go with some chicken biryani the other day. I am guessing it was K’s first time eating it, because he said he liked how the raita had turned out

I don't have a big long story behind this recipe but here is another Raita recipe you could use instead of the usual cucumber-onion raita. My mom would made this when I was growing up and I decided to make this to go with some chicken biryani the other day. I am guessing it was K's first time eating it, because he said he liked how the raita had turned out

Summary

    Ingredients

    2, Carrots : grated
    1 Onion : diced fine
    1 tsp Ginger Paste :
    1 tsp Mustard seeds :
    to taste Salt
    Oil
    1.5 cups Yogurt –

    Steps

    1. In a pot, add a tsp of mustard seeds to some heated oil
    2. When the seeds start popping, add the onions and sauté until they go soft
    3. To it add the ginger paste and grated carrots and some salt
    4. Cook until the carrots are cooked through
    5. Remove from heat and add the yogurt
    6. Mix well and I put it in the fridge until it was ready to be served
    7. It is nice when served cold

    2 comments

    1. You know what, my mom learned how to make this from your mom and I learned it from my mom. I love making this:) I was just thinking the other day how your mom used to make almond kheer with rava. It used to be one of my favorite things to eat at your place.

    Leave a Reply

    