Pound Cake

I searched far and wide for a pound cake recipe and ended up with this one because of one ingredient – CREAM CHEESE! That made it stand out from other recipes that I looked at. So I decided to go with the unique one! This is taken from the Better Homes and Garden (May 2009 isue). It was my first time baking a pound cake at home, and I was impressed by the outcome. YAY! I was excited and nervous as I waited for the cake to be done. It felt like forever, but once I took a bite, it was perfect! 🙂 If you have another recipe that you have tried, pass it on 🙂

I searched far and wide for a pound cake recipe and ended up with this one because of one ingredient - CREAM CHEESE! That made it stand out from other recipes that I looked at. So I decided to go with the unique one! This is taken from the Better Homes and Garden (May 2009 isue). It was my first time baking a pound cake at home, and I was impressed by the outcome. YAY! I was excited and nervous as I waited for the cake to be done. It felt like forever, but once I took a bite, it was perfect! 🙂 If you have another recipe that you have tried, pass it on 🙂

Summary

    Ingredients

    6 Eggs –
    1 cup Butter –
    8 oz Cream Cheese –
    2 1/2 cups Sugar –
    1 tsp Salt –
    4 tsps Vanilla –
    3 cups or 2 1/2 cups Cake flour – + 2 tbsps of all purpose flour
    1/4 cup Sliced Almonds –

    Steps

    1. Begin by beating the butter on low speed and add the cream cheese after couple of minutes
    2. I kept the speed on low and continued until it was blended well
    3. While beating, add sugar, vanilla and salt and beat on medium speed for 5mins until it is light and fluffy
    4. Next, add the eggs one at a time and continue beating
    5. Now its time for the dry ingredients, turn the speed to low, and add the flour
    6. Beat the batter until well blended and smooth
    7. Once you have accomplished this, its time to bake
    8. Butter your cake pan well
    9. If you have a 10 inch cake pan, pour it all in, if not divide the quantity and bake
    10. Shake pan gently to distribute the batter
    11. Add the sliced almonds on top and its time for the oven
    12. Bake the cake in a 300F oven for 1hr 15mins or until the cake is done
    13. Transfer the pound cake to a cooling rack for 10mins before removing from pans and serving

    One thought on “Pound Cake

    1. Pound cakes always remind me of my childhood.This was one of the cakes my Grams would always have ready when me and my cousins visit her.Wish I had a slice of this right now.Thanks for sharing your recipe, Id love to try this one soon.I hope you could add a foodista widget to the end of this post so we could find your pound cake recipe. Thanks!

    Leave a Reply

    