Carrot Rice

I probably must have mentioned this on a few posts that I try not to repeat recipes for 2 reasons a) it is not helpful when you have a recipe blog b) we love variety in our meals. One of my favorite weekend activities is going to the fresh market and thankfully we have 2 located close to where we live. Carrots were on a good price, so I reached for a bag and was really pleased with the price. However after I got home, I had to come up with something. K has eaten this growing up and I have not, so that definitely called for an experiement

I probably must have mentioned this on a few posts that I try not to repeat recipes for 2 reasons a) it is not helpful when you have a recipe blog b) we love variety in our meals. One of my favorite weekend activities is going to the fresh market and thankfully we have 2 located close to where we live. Carrots were on a good price, so I reached for a bag and was really pleased with the price. However after I got home, I had to come up with something. K has eaten this growing up and I have not, so that definitely called for an experiement

Summary

    Ingredients

    4 Carrots: medium shredded (add more or less depending on preference)
    2 cups Rice: , washed
    1 large Onion: diced
    2 Green chillies: slit lengthwise
    1 tbsp Ginger paste:
    1 tbsp Garlic paste:
    1 tsp Mustard seeds:
    tsp Cumin seeds:
    pinch Tumeric Powder: a
    1 tsp Coriander powder:
    1 tsp Chilli Powder:
    Oil
    to taste Salt

    Steps

    1. In a pressure cooker add the mustard seeds to some heated oil
    2. When the seeds start to pop, add the cumin seeds and let it brown slightly
    3. Next add the onions, ginger and garlic pastes and the green chillies and sauté until the onions go soft
    4. The tumeric, coriander and chilli powders go in next
    5. I let the masalas cook through and added the shredded carrots and let it cook for a few mins
    6. Since we are making this dish in a pressure cooker, if any thing doesn’t seem cooked, its absolutely fine
    7. Add the 2 cups of rice and 4 cups of water (1:2 ratio) and add the required amount of salt
    8. Mix everything really well, put the lid on and cook for 2 whistles
    9. When the pressure goes off, transfer to a serving bowl and garnish with some freshly chopped coriander leaves
    10. A raita goes well with this rice

    Leave a Reply

    