Stir-fried Eggplant

It cracks me up when I walk into our gym every day to find MasterChef Australia on the television. Here are all these people on their treadmills, cycles and ellipticals working out and burning these mean calories, and what’s on TV? a mouth watering and fattening food show. I enjoy reading when I am busy burning those calories, but for a foodie like me, a food show can never be ignored. I saw this on the show and made it after I got home. I always have coriander and spring onions in my fridge, they add so much flavour to the dish, even if its for a garnish. Since eggplant is a favorite veggie in our household, a new recipe is always welcome with an open heart and a hungry belly!

It cracks me up when I walk into our gym every day to find MasterChef Australia on the television. Here are all these people on their treadmills, cycles and ellipticals working out and burning these mean calories, and what's on TV? a mouth watering and fattening food show. I enjoy reading when I am busy burning those calories, but for a foodie like me, a food show can never be ignored. I saw this on the show and made it after I got home. I always have coriander and spring onions in my fridge, they add so much flavour to the dish, even if its for a garnish. Since eggplant is a favorite veggie in our household, a new recipe is always welcome with an open heart and a hungry belly!

Summary

    Ingredients

    1 large , Eggplant : cut into chunks
    1/2 bunch Coriander leaves : (or more) finely sliced
    3 Spring Onions : sliced
    3 tbsps Peanut Oil :
    to taste Salt
    Pepper
    Chilli Sauce :
    6, Red Chillies : roughly chopped
    Cloves : 10 Garlic , roughly chopped
    7 cm Ginger : piece , roughly chopped
    1 tbsp Soy Sauce :

    Steps

    1. Let’s begin by making the chilli sauce
    2. Add the chillies, garlic and ginger to some heated oil
    3. Stir constantly (so it doesn’t brown up) over medium heat for about 5mins
    4. Reduce the heat to low and let it cook for another 5mins (don’t forget to stir)
    5. Turn off the stove and stir in the soy sauce and set aside
    6. If you have a wok, bring it out for this recipe, if not we can use a non-stick pan
    7. Heat the peanut oil, and when it is hot enough, add the eggplant and stir-fry on high for 3mins, stirring occassionaly
    8. Reduce the heat to medium and stir-fry for another 5-7mins
    9. Add the chilli sauce and stir fry for a minute
    10. Add the coriander and the spring onions and toss to combine well
    11. Sprinkle some salt and pepper and serve immediately
    12. I tend to have left overs for any dish, but not for this one – the smell and crunch of the coriander and spring onions complemented the eggplant really well

    Leave a Reply

    