Almond Biscotti



Biscottis reminds me of my college days – I spent a lot of time working on papers, and assignments of all kinds and other free times at local cafes. There was something about coffee and the ipod that blocked all the noise surrounding me to get lots of work done. To compliment my coffee, I always got myself a biscotti. Yes they had muffins, scones and other yummies, however, a biscotti gives you that needed crunch on the side for your cuppa. A week ago, we wandered into a mall and I had to get myself a coffee to stablise my brains – the roads here in WGTN sometimes messes me up and results in a head ache and K always says a coffee is better than a pill. So we marched off to the first coffee place and when I saw the big jars of biscotti I had to have one!!! Every time I eat something that brings back memories or is a favorite at a particular restaurant or cafe, I have got to make it!!! So I did at 9:30pm and went to bed with the smell of the freshly baked biscottis  🙂

Ingredients:

  • Blanched Whole Almonds – 1 cup
  • Toast Almonds in a preheated 180C/350F oven until lightly brown for 8-10mins.
  • Reduce the temperature to 150C/300F and began to make the dough
  • Beat the eggs and the extracts together. Slowly add in the flour, sugar, baking powder and salt. Mix until blended into a dough. Add the almonds and gently fold in to the dough.

Gently roll the dough into a log and place on a baking sheet and bake for 30-40mins or until firm to touch.

Remove from oven, and let it cool for about 10mins. Using a knife, cut the log into 1/2 inch slices. Place the slices on the baking sheet and bake for 10mins, turn the slices over and bake another 10mins until firm to the touch.

I then melted some chocolate and drizzled over the biscottis.

Remove from oven and let it cool. Store in an airtight container.

One comment

Leave a Reply

