Sweet Coconut Aval



I must say I have explored so many different varieties of Indian food just this year. Kingsley being pretty connected to his Indian roots often shares about his favorite foods and cravings! – so what does that mean? I research and I make it, or I imagine the flavours and I make it. Sweet Coconut Aval is one of his favorite breakfast foods and I doubt I have replicated his mom’s recipe, but the taste is pretty similar so I guess I have done alright with this one… haha 🙂

For those who are wondering what Aval is … it is puffed rice! Now don’t ask me further!

Ingredients

  • Aval – 2 cups
  • Grated Coconut – 1/4 cup
  • Coconut Milk – 1/2 cup
  • Milk – 1/2 cup
  • Sugar – 4 tbsp
  • Salt – a pinch
  • Cardamom powder – 3 tsp
  • Bananas
  • Warm water – 2 cups

Aval is quite crunchy, so I soften it by pouring a cup or 2 of water and covered it until the aval has softened. Pretty similar to an instant noodles techique – let it sit for 2-3mins and you are ready to make this quick and easy breakfast.

Once the aval is soften, pour the milk and coconut milk and mix well. Next add the grated coconut, salt, sugar and cardamom powder and fold together. Garnish with chopped bananas and serve immediately.

Leave a Reply

