Madeleine

The first time I came across Madeleine was at Starbucks. Yes I know a lot of you may not be a Starbucks fan, but lets just say that I was glad I went to SB that particular day because I fell in love with this cute little spongey cake. When I was searching the internet far and wide for a recipe, I came across a story on the joy of baking. Story time: History dates their beginnings to the 18th century in the French town of Commercy, in the region of Lorraine. The story goes that a girl name Madeleine made them for Stanislaw Lezczynski, Duke of Lorraine, who loved them so much that he then gave some to his daughter, Marie, the wife of Louis XV. Their popularity grew from that point on and if we fast forward to today we know that they are now enjoyed in many countries around the globe

Before you make this pretty little cake, you need to get a Madeleine pan. I was honestly intimidated by the pan LOL! I liked the outcome, and definitely look forward to making these again 🙂

The first time I came across Madeleine was at Starbucks. Yes I know a lot of you may not be a Starbucks fan, but lets just say that I was glad I went to SB that particular day because I fell in love with this cute little spongey cake. When I was searching the internet far and wide for a recipe, I came across a story on the joy of baking. Story time: History dates their beginnings to the 18th century in the French town of Commercy, in the region of Lorraine. The story goes that a girl name Madeleine made them for Stanislaw Lezczynski, Duke of Lorraine, who loved them so much that he then gave some to his daughter, Marie, the wife of Louis XV. Their popularity grew from that point on and if we fast forward to today we know that they are now enjoyed in many countries around the globe Before you make this pretty little cake, you need to get a Madeleine pan. I was honestly intimidated by the pan LOL! I liked the outcome, and definitely look forward to making these again 🙂

Summary

    Ingredients

    1 cup All Purpose Flour –
    1/2 tsp Baking Powder –
    1/8 tsp Salt –
    3 Eggs –
    2/3 cup White Sugar –
    1 tsp Vanilla extract –
    1/2 cup Unsalted Melted butter –

    Steps

    1. In a small bowl mix the flour, baking powder and salt until well blended.
    2. In a seperate bowl, beat the eggs and sugar together with an electric mixer until the mixture triples in volume and forms a thick ribbon when the beaters are lifted. Add the vanilla and beat to combine
    3. Slowly add the flour into the batter and fold in. Finally add the cooled melted butter. Cover and refrigerate for atleast 30mins until slightly firm
    4. Dust the Madeleine pans with flour. Drop a generous tablespoonful of the batter in the center of each mold. Bake the madeleines for 11-13mins, until the edges are golden brown and the centers spring back when lightly touched
    5. I was paying attention during the baking process because I didn’t want to overbake them
    6. Once done, tranfer the madeleines smooth size down to wire racks to cool.

    Leave a Reply

    