Spring Onion Scrambled Eggs

Eggs are like friends you need in time of need. If I ever run out of a meal idea, I can always depend on an egg recipe. I also depend on potatoes, but eggs are just perfect. Whenever I make pancakes (usually a Sat / Sun) I make some eggs and hashbrowns to go with them. I play with the egg options, so whether it is Scrambled, an Omlette or sunny side up, I switch it around always to keep things interesting. I had some spring onions in the fridge, and I decided to toss it in with the eggs and make some Spring Onion Scrambled eggs. You’ve got to try this if you make eggs, or have a pancake breakfast tradition in your household as well 🙂

Eggs are like friends you need in time of need. If I ever run out of a meal idea, I can always depend on an egg recipe. I also depend on potatoes, but eggs are just perfect. Whenever I make pancakes (usually a Sat / Sun) I make some eggs and hashbrowns to go with them. I play with the egg options, so whether it is Scrambled, an Omlette or sunny side up, I switch it around always to keep things interesting. I had some spring onions in the fridge, and I decided to toss it in with the eggs and make some Spring Onion Scrambled eggs. You've got to try this if you make eggs, or have a pancake breakfast tradition in your household as well 🙂

Summary

    Ingredients

    3 Eggs :
    2 bunches Spring Onions –
    1/4 tsp Mustard Seeds –
    1/4 tsp Cumin Seeds –
    1 tsp Chilli Powder –
    a few Curry leaves –
    Oil
    to taste Salt

    Steps

    1. Wash and chop the spring onions – separate the green from the white onion at the bottom
    2. Beat the eggs in a bowl and we are now ready to start cooking
    3. To some heated oil, add the curry leaves and mustard seeds
    4. When the mustard starts spluttering, in goes the cumin seeds and the chopped white onion that you get from the Spring onions
    5. Fry this for about a minute and then add the chopped spring onions
    6. Add some salt, chilli powder and saute
    7. A minute later, add the eggs and cook them like you would a typical scramble egg
    8. Once the eggs get to a scrambled egg consistency, turn off the stove
    9. Serve!

    Leave a Reply

    