Palak Chicken (Spinach Chicken)

I have been trying my best to move away from posting too many Indian recipes, but looking at the search stats that come through for eaterspot, they are mostly Indian recipe names, so I guess I can’t reduce the number of Indian recipe posts for now, they are in high demand! However the awesome news (well atleast for me) is that though I have had to keep my indian recipe database going, I haven’t cooked many Indian dishes unless we have guests home. Probably sounds strange to some of you :), but to me that means I have gone back to my life prior to getting married, and K and I haven’t expanded the waistlines (YESH!)

So what does my rambling have to do with this Indian recipe? Absolutely nothing … haha. Alright let’s get to this recipe. Kids might call it GREEN chicken, and if they don’t like spinach but like the colour green, this will go down real fast. You won’t be able to taste the spinach in this one!

I have been trying my best to move away from posting too many Indian recipes, but looking at the search stats that come through for eaterspot, they are mostly Indian recipe names, so I guess I can't reduce the number of Indian recipe posts for now, they are in high demand! However the awesome news (well atleast for me) is that though I have had to keep my indian recipe database going, I haven't cooked many Indian dishes unless we have guests home. Probably sounds strange to some of you :), but to me that means I have gone back to my life prior to getting married, and K and I haven't expanded the waistlines (YESH!)

Summary

    Ingredients

    Chicken: breast meat , thighs or drumsticks
    1 large Onion : diced
    2 Tomato : medium chopped
    1 – 2 tsps Garlic Paste :
    1 – 2 tsps Ginger Paste :
    Spinach : enough to make a paste
    1/2 cup Coriander :
    1/2 tsp Cumin seeds :
    2 tbsps Chicken Masala :
    1/2 cup Coconut milk :
    Salt
    Oil
    Freshly chopped coriander leaves for garnish
    Marinate Chicken pieces in some chicken masala

    Steps

    1. Saute the onions and cumin seeds until the onions have softened. Next add the masala powder, ginger and garlic paste and continue cooking until the masala cooks through. Add the spinach and the 1/2 cup of coriander, season with salt and cook until the spinach and coriander leaves wilt. Transfer the mixture into a bowl and allow it to cool. Once cool enough to handle, blitz it until it is a smooth paste
    2. In the mean time, get started with the chicken. Pour some oil in the pan and cook the marinated chicken pieces. Pour the spinach paste on to the chicken, add the tomato pieces, coconut milk, season with salt and cook on medium low
    3. I added a little water almost at the end of the cooking process because the tomatoes ooze out water when cooked
    4. Garnish with coriander leaves and serve!
    5. This chicken recipe goes great with rice or rotis

    One comment

    1. Hi, I just found this amazing blog through EXPAT-BLOG… I was actually looking for Palak Paneer recipe but Palak Chicken sounds very tempting me! I wil definitely try one!

    Leave a Reply

    