Breakfast Quinoa

Being pregnant has been a pleasant experience and a lot of my time has been spent exploring food. If asked if I am on a specific diet of some sort, I am quick to say no – cause diets are quite boring and I definitely wouldn’t want to restrict myself with a bunch of boring rules. I eat healthy and certain favourites like coffee or caffeine of any sort or Indian pickles amongst other things are so off the shelf at the moment. Exploring different cuisines results in me having a baby who will be open to eating a variety of food and that would be a plus since I love to cook.

Quinoa (pronounced Keen-wah) was on my to-be-eaten list and with my mum, dad and sis after me to buy this, it was bought. Quinoa is quite high in protein supplying nine essential amino acids. Quinoa is also loaded with dietary fiber, calcium, iron, and phosphorus and Magnesium. Now why wouldn’t you want to eat this … Once cooked the texture is interesting! I made K try it and his facial expression was hilarious to watch, but then I kept saying its all about the baby … its all about the baby and it was all gone.

Ingredients:
Quinoa: 1 cup
Milk: 2 cups
Ground Almond: 1 tbsp
Ground Pistachio: 1 tbsp
Honey
Fresh mixed berries or other fruits

Rinse the quinoa in a fine sieve. In a saucepan, combine the milk and rinsed quinoa along with the ground almonds and pistachio. Allow it cook on medium to low heat until the quinoa is cooked, if more milk is required you can add it.

Divide the quinoa into 2 bowls, or 1 if you eat it all … and drizzle some honey. Top it with some fresh fruit and pour over some more milk. I had some strawberries at home, so went with that when I made this the first time.

2 comments

Leave a Reply

