Christmas Cake

Here is a childhood Christmas memory: Well, there are quite a few!!! but I definitely remember when people showed up at our house with store bought christmas cake. I would take a peek into the box and close it again. Even before I could eat it, I was able to imagine the very blah and dry taste of some of those christmas cakes. I am not a huge fan of raisins, and these cakes came loaded with about 100 in each slice. I have been making and baking loads of Christmas goodies since the start of December. There is a huge possibility lots wonder why I am draining my energy especially since I am preggers at the moment … However I find the time spent measuring all the ingredients and peeking into the oven absolutely relaxing and refreshing. This is the start of the many Christmas recipes I have in mind for the coming few weeks. Hope you enjoy them and hope you get to try one of the recipes this season

Here is a childhood Christmas memory: Well, there are quite a few!!! but I definitely remember when people showed up at our house with store bought christmas cake. I would take a peek into the box and close it again. Even before I could eat it, I was able to imagine the very blah and dry taste of some of those christmas cakes. I am not a huge fan of raisins, and these cakes came loaded with about 100 in each slice. I have been making and baking loads of Christmas goodies since the start of December. There is a huge possibility lots wonder why I am draining my energy especially since I am preggers at the moment ... However I find the time spent measuring all the ingredients and peeking into the oven absolutely relaxing and refreshing. This is the start of the many Christmas recipes I have in mind for the coming few weeks. Hope you enjoy them and hope you get to try one of the recipes this season

Summary

    Ingredients

    4 Eggs :
    3 cups Flour :
    200 g Unsalted Butter :
    2 cups Caster Sugar :
    1 tbsp Vanilla Essence :
    1/2 tsp Ground Cinnamon :
    1/2 tsp Ground Nutmeg :
    2 tsps Baking Powder :
    1 cup Milk :
    1 cup Store bought fruit mince :
    Icing :
    1 cup Unsalted Butter :
    4 cups Icing Sugar :
    1/4 cup Milk :
    Red food coloring
    180 C Preheat your oven to

    Steps

    1. Begin by beating the butter until its creamy. Add sugar and continue beating it well. Next add the eggs one at a time, beating for about a minute between each addition. Finally add the vanilla essence and beat until everything is well combined
    2. Next comes the dry ingredients, sift the flour, spices and baking powder and slowly start adding it to the wet mixture with the milk and mix well until combined. Finally add the fruit mince and mix it all up
    3. Bake the cake until is done and your cake tester comes out clean
    4. While the cake cools, make your icing. Cream the butter until pale, then add the milk and the icing sugar. Add enough food colour until you get the shade you like. The mixture should be spreadable, if its too dry add some milk, if its too wet add some more icing sugar
    5. I bought some cutsy Santas to go on the cake, so added that to make it look pretty, and dusted it with some icing sugar
    6. Merry Christmas!
    7. Store in an air tight container if there are any left overs
    8. P.S: The icing looks rather bright in the picture … it didn’t turn out so red if you are wondering … didn’t change the camera settings! 🙂

    4 thoughts on “Christmas Cake

    1. Looks great. i usually soak all the dry fruits in grape juice for about 1 week and use brown sugar to get rich brown colour.

    2. Awesome … thanks for sharing that … I guess if people can’t find fruit mince in the store, they can try what you are suggesting.

    Leave a Reply

    