Chicken Parmigiana

I admit I am guilty of not being a faithful blogger while I have continued to cook different recipes at home. K & I have 7 more weeks till Baby Jello’s due date and when I am not at work, my mind and conversation pretty much revolves around organizing for the baby, thus I haven’t had a lot of time lately! So accept my apologies, I don’t intend on letting the blog die and I am really grateful for the many visits each day :). K definitely reminds me to blog often, so though I will be slow for a few weeks, please know I am just being busy with baby business and K will be there to remind me to get a post up hehe…

Alright on to the recipe – with my Italian food craze lately I have been making all sorts for my hungry tummy. Chicken Parmesan is such an absolute yummy favourite that is worth a try and quite easy to make :). I love that majority of the work is in the prep, and once that’s done, your meal is ready in no time!

Ingredients:
Chicken Breasts – pounded into 1/2 inch thickness
All purpose flour – 1/2 cup
Milk – 1/2 cup
Eggs – 2
Dried Oregano – 1 tsp
Garlic powder – 1/2 tsp or you can use some paste
Paprika – 4 tsps
Salt – 1/2 tsp
Pepper – 1/2 tsp
Bread crumbs – 2 cups / enough to coat the chicken breasts
Marinara Sauce – around 3 1/2 cups
Mozzarella Cheese – 3/4 cup
Shredded Parmesan – 2 tbsps
Spagetti
Oil to fry / Oil Spray

Preheat your oven to 180C / 350F

In a bowl, toss the crumbs with the paprika, garlic powder, oregano, salt and pepper. In a 2nd bowl, whisk the egg and milk and in the 3rd bowl, mix the flour along with some salt and pepper.
When you have the chicken breasts at the proper thickness, dip each piece in the flour, shake off excess, followed by a dip in the egg mixture and finally the bread crumb mixture shaking off any excess. Repeat this for all of the chicken breasts.

Once done, you have two options, you can bake the chicken breasts OR you can shallow fry it. Depending on your time and the amount of oil consumption, you can choose what works best.

I decided to bake mine. So in a well greased glass baking dish, cook the chicken breasts until they are browned. I then topped it with the marinara sauce, and the cheese and allowed it to bake for another 10-15mins until the cheese got bubbly.

When the chicken breasts are cooking, make sure you cook your spaghetti. Once cooked I tossed the spaghetti in some olive oil and parmesan cheese for some extra flavour and topped it with the well crumbed chicken breasts with some marinara sauce and melted cheese on it! YUM … 🙂

Your meal is ready to be served 🙂

Leave a Reply

