Sweet & Sour Chicken

Recipes like this remind me of the many number of times I ordered Chinese food while at university. This particular recipe also reminds me of when I was an international student at Hope College and a friend of mine at that time and I would invite about 30 students or sometimes more to fit that little college apartment of ours and she has made sweet and sour chicken for all those people. After moving out of the States, I haven’t actually eaten a heck lot of chinese food, maybe the lack of chinese buffets over here is the biggest reason, so when I came across a recipe on Sweet and Sour chicken lots of memories flooded back and I had to make it for Mr.Husband too, who let me tell you loved it

Recipes like this remind me of the many number of times I ordered Chinese food while at university. This particular recipe also reminds me of when I was an international student at Hope College and a friend of mine at that time and I would invite about 30 students or sometimes more to fit that little college apartment of ours and she has made sweet and sour chicken for all those people. After moving out of the States, I haven't actually eaten a heck lot of chinese food, maybe the lack of chinese buffets over here is the biggest reason, so when I came across a recipe on Sweet and Sour chicken lots of memories flooded back and I had to make it for Mr.Husband too, who let me tell you loved it

Summary

    Ingredients

    Chicken Breading:
    4 Chicken Breast –
    1 cup Cornstarch –
    2 Eggs – beaten
    Canola Oil for frying
    Salt & Pepper
    Sauce:
    1 tbsp Soy Sauce –
    1 clove Garlic – crushed
    3/4 cups Sugar:
    4 tbsps Ketchip –
    1/2 cup White Vinegar –

    Steps

    1. Cut the Chicken breast and season with salt and pepper
    2. Next dip the chicken into the corn starch and coat evenly and then the eggs OR
    3. mix the corn starch and eggs and dip the chicken pieces in the batter
    4. This works fine too! Cook the chicken until browned
    5. Drain on paper towels and place the cooked in a baking dish
    6. Now for the sauce: Whisk all the ingredients together and pour over the chicken
    7. Make sure the sauce coats the chicken evenly on all sides
    8. Cook at 350F for 15mins, turn the chicken and cook for 15more mins
    9. Serve with rice

    Leave a Reply

    