Molten Chocolate Cake

I have a foodie friend, who I wish lived in the same country as I do, but unfortunately she doesn’t :(. Among the million things we talk about each day, food probably forms at least 70% of the conversation, well maybe sometimes its more than 70% LOL. This recipe comes out of one of those conversations. Maybe 12 hours prior to me getting this recipe off her, K and I were watching a cooking show called My Kitchen Rules; its a show that the two of us watch together every week and the dessert that probably grabbed K’s attention more than me was a Molten Chocolate Lava Cake. I made a mental note to dig up the recipe sometime in the near future, and then I find my friend randomly telling me that she wanted to make a molten cake. Gotta love moments like that – so I got this recipe off her and it was just perfect to finish a big day of shopping with an overly excited toddler with this quick and easy but definitely delicious dessert. I really wanted to take it out of the ramekin and get a great shot of the chocolate oozing out of the center, but my toddler needed to be attended too. πŸ™‚

I have a foodie friend, who I wish lived in the same country as I do, but unfortunately she doesn't :(. Among the million things we talk about each day, food probably forms at least 70% of the conversation, well maybe sometimes its more than 70% LOL. This recipe comes out of one of those conversations. Maybe 12 hours prior to me getting this recipe off her, K and I were watching a cooking show called My Kitchen Rules; its a show that the two of us watch together every week and the dessert that probably grabbed K's attention more than me was a Molten Chocolate Lava Cake. I made a mental note to dig up the recipe sometime in the near future, and then I find my friend randomly telling me that she wanted to make a molten cake. Gotta love moments like that - so I got this recipe off her and it was just perfect to finish a big day of shopping with an overly excited toddler with this quick and easy but definitely delicious dessert. I really wanted to take it out of the ramekin and get a great shot of the chocolate oozing out of the center, but my toddler needed to be attended too. πŸ™‚

Summary

    Ingredients

    1/2 cup Semisweet Chocolate chips :
    1/2 cup Butter :
    1/3 cup Brown Sugar :
    2 Eggs :
    1/4 cup All Purpose Flour :

    Steps

    1. Preheat your oven to 180C / 350F. Butter the ramekins and set aside. I used 4 ramekins
    2. Melt the butter and chocolate together. Once its well melted, set aside to cool
    3. In another bowl, whisk the eggs with the brown sugar. Next add the flour to this bowl. Finally add the melted chocolate and mix well to combine
    4. Pour this into the ramekins and bake for about 12mins
    5. Serve the cakes warm topped with vanilla ice-cream. I chose to leave the cake in the ramekin as I had a ‘busy’ toddler running around who needed to be attended to while I had to take a picture and taste this amazing dessert ;). But if you wanted to take it out of the ramekins, use a knife to loosen it up by running it around the cake. Invert the cake ‘carefully’ onto the plate, give it a few seconds before lifting the ramekin off the plate
    6. ENJOY!

    One comment

    Leave a Reply

    