Moutabel – Spicy Eggplant Dip

My favourite cuisine is definitely Middle Eastern. Absolutely no doubt about that! Often I find myself thinking of all the great food memories with family and friends in Kuwait. There is always PLENTY of food, and the flavours are just so yummylicious! I know you can walk over to the local supermarket these days and grab a little container filled with a Middle-Eastern themed/flavoured dip, but trust me when you actually eat the real deal, the rest are just so not cool. Moutabel is one of my favourite arabic dips. Some of you might be familiar with babaganoush and not moutabel, similar concept as baba but I like this better. If you went along with my family to eat some lebanese food, we would get some moutabel and hummus and a few other dips to go with the meat dishes. I love making this dip – so easy and its just yum!

I hope you enjoy it just like K and I do! 🙂

My favourite cuisine is definitely Middle Eastern. Absolutely no doubt about that! Often I find myself thinking of all the great food memories with family and friends in Kuwait. There is always PLENTY of food, and the flavours are just so yummylicious! I know you can walk over to the local supermarket these days and grab a little container filled with a Middle-Eastern themed/flavoured dip, but trust me when you actually eat the real deal, the rest are just so not cool. Moutabel is one of my favourite arabic dips. Some of you might be familiar with babaganoush and not moutabel, similar concept as baba but I like this better. If you went along with my family to eat some lebanese food, we would get some moutabel and hummus and a few other dips to go with the meat dishes. I love making this dip - so easy and its just yum!

Summary

    Ingredients

    2 Eggplant : medium
    Cloves : 2 Garlic
    1 Green Chile Pepper :
    2 tbsps Tahini :
    2 tbsps Lemon Juice :
    1/2 tsp Salt :
    tsps Olive Oil : couple of

    Steps

    1. We first need to cook the egpplants, so preheat your oven to 400F and bake the eggplants until it is soft and seared
    2. You can also place your washed eggplant on an open flame and broil it
    3. I prefer doing this because you get that smokey flavour in your dip, if you can’t do that you can use the oven instead
    4. What you need is a nicely burnt outside but the inside needs to be cooked and mushey
    5. Scoop the eggplant from the skin and transfer to a food processor along with the garlic, green pepper, salt and tahini
    6. Once smooth, add the lemon juice
    7. Transfer to a serving bowl and pour the olive oil
    8. This dip goes great with meat – so chicken or lamb OR you can serve this along with bagel crisps or pita chips

    Leave a Reply

    