Russian Tea Cakes

It’s been cold here in Wellington this week and I have been craving sugar after dinner. I blame that on all these cooking shows I have been watching every week night, so either during or after the show I am eating some sort of sugar

My absolute favourite is My Kitchen Rules (an aussie cooking competition) and yes there is a bit of drama and all that

but I enjoy watching ordinary people cooking up cool dishes… and all you women who watch it for Manu … I don’t watch it for him!

It was the semifinals this week, and I had already eaten ice-cream two nights in a row, so I decided to make some Russian Tea cakes

The first time I made them, I was in university – it was Christmas and I was visiting family in Kuwait. It was a great hit!

K was out at church for a youth meeting, so I decided to make this quickly before he got home. He loves sweet sugary coated surprises,

so he got all excited when he knew something was in the oven when he got home. I love how this sweet little dish is made with pantry basics

If you don’t have these ingredients in your kitchen, you definitely need to work on stocking up that pantry. Hope you enjoy this one … it was so good both warm (yes we couldn’t wait to eat it) and even after it cooled down

It's been cold here in Wellington this week and I have been craving sugar after dinner. I blame that on all these cooking shows I have been watching every week night, so either during or after the show I am eating some sort of sugar

Summary

    Ingredients

    2 1/4 cups All purpose flour :
    1 cup Unsalted Butter :
    1/2 cup + another cup Icing Sugar : for coating
    1 tsp Vanilla :
    1 tsp Salt :
    1 cup Nuts : (walnuts, pecans, cashews or almonds – go with what you like)
    400 Preheat the oven to F
    cup of Mix the unsalted melted butter , the icing sugar and vanilla

    Steps

    1. Next add the flour and salt. Last but not least goes in the nuts.Go with your favourite kind
    2. Finally make 1 inch balls, place on a baking tray and bake for 12-15min. They should be almost
    3. done once they hit the 10-12min mark, but keep an eye on them
    4. Take them out and gently toss in some icing sugar. Once it was cooled, I tossed it with some more icing sugar
    5. Serve this with a cuppa

    Leave a Reply

    