Egg Biryani

Biryanis and Indian homes go well together. I know of people who make biryanis every week because they love it SO much! I don’t make it that often, but when I do there is a lot of excitement and anticipation in the house … While we were on holiday not so long ago, I spent my late night hours looking up recipe ideas that I could try out once back at home, and that’s when one of my favourite blogs Edible Garden had an egg biryani recipe up. I honestly wanted to get out to a kitchen to try it out, but it was a bit hard doing that while staying in a hotel room that night, so I made a mental note to make this for the hubby once we got home. I hope you get to make this if you are a biryani lover, if you aren’t and have the spices you still should give this a shot … it was a perfect and satisfying meal! 🙂

Biryanis and Indian homes go well together. I know of people who make biryanis every week because they love it SO much! I don't make it that often, but when I do there is a lot of excitement and anticipation in the house ... While we were on holiday not so long ago, I spent my late night hours looking up recipe ideas that I could try out once back at home, and that's when one of my favourite blogs Edible Garden had an egg biryani recipe up. I honestly wanted to get out to a kitchen to try it out, but it was a bit hard doing that while staying in a hotel room that night, so I made a mental note to make this for the hubby once we got home. I hope you get to make this if you are a biryani lover, if you aren't and have the spices you still should give this a shot ... it was a perfect and satisfying meal! 🙂

Summary

    Ingredients

    4 Eggs: hard boiled
    3 cups Rice: cooked rice
    2 large Onion: sliced
    1/2 cup Tomato: diced
    2 tbsps Ginger Paste:
    2 tbsps Garlic Paste:
    2 Green Chillies:
    bunch Coriander: a small
    bunch Mint: a small
    1/2 tsp Cumin Seeds:
    1/2 tsp Fennel Seeds:
    1/2 inch Cinnamon Stick:
    3 Cloves:
    3 Cardmom:
    1 Staranise:
    1 Bay leaf:
    1/2 tsp Turmeric Powder:
    1/2 tsp Chilli Powder:
    1 tsp Coriander Powder:
    2 tsps Biryani Masala:
    2 cups Coconut Milk:
    4 tbsps Ghee (Clarified butter):
    Coriander & Mint leaves for garnish

    Steps

    1. First up, wash and soak the rice in water for about 30mins. I then cooked it in an electric rice cooker, while I got the curry base for this recipe together
    2. Grind the mint, coriander, green chillies and a pinch of salt to a smooth paste and set aside
    3. Saute the onions in some ghee until it softens. Next add the ginger and garlic pastes followed by the spices: turmeric, coriander and chilli powder and add in the cloves, cinnamon stick, cardamom pods, star anise, cumin and fennel seeds as well. Mix together and saute for a few seconds
    4. Next add the tomatoes and the pureed mint-coriander-chillies mix. Give it a few minutes to cook
    5. Add 2 cups of the coconut milk and a 1/2 cup of water, add the biryani masala, and season with salt before reducing the flame to low. Let this simmer for about 10 mins
    6. I used the waiting time to boil the eggs
    7. The masala will start to thicken, and you can smell when the spices are fully cooked through, the curry base is just aromatic!
    8. Final step – add the cooked rice to this masala and gently mix it together
    9. Add the sliced boiled eggs, garnish with the freshly chopped coriander and mint leaves
    10. Serve hot with a raita

    Leave a Reply

    