Savoury French Toast

French Toast (or Bombay toast for my Indian readers) is a favourite in a lot of homes across the world I am sure. I decided to make a savoury french toast this past weekend, thanks to me buying two loaves of bread at two different times during the same week and not realising I had done so until that saturday morning!

This is a great dish that is perfect for a weekend breakfast / brunch type thing and I got to eat this with my favourite people in the world here in NZ – the Mr. and the daughter

If you are a fan of french toasts, you should try making this savoury option! I am sure you will be really satisfied!

French Toast (or Bombay toast for my Indian readers) is a favourite in a lot of homes across the world I am sure. I decided to make a savoury french toast this past weekend, thanks to me buying two loaves of bread at two different times during the same week and not realising I had done so until that saturday morning!

Summary

    Ingredients

    4 Bread : slices of bread of your choice
    1/2 tsp Herb Stock Powder :
    1/3 cup Milk :
    3 Eggs :
    1/2 cup Cheese : of grated cheddar or colby
    Fresh herbs like parsley or basil , chopped
    Butter
    Olive Oil

    Steps

    1. Grab a bowl that is large enough to fit a slice of bread. In it, lightly beat the eggs, add the milk (maybe a dash of cream as well if you like), the herbs and the
    2. grated cheese
    3. Add 1/2 tsp of the stock powder to 1 tbsp of boiling water, once dissolved add it to the egg mixture. Mix the egg mixture together
    4. Soak the slice of bread in the egg mixture until it is soggy
    5. Melt a little butter and oil in a pan. Once hot, fry the bread until its golden brown and puffy. Make sure the heat is on medium low
    6. Cut it into triangles if its not cut already and serve it with some tomato sauce, or you can go fancy and serve it with plum sauce
    7. YUM!

    Leave a Reply

    