Chicken Quinoa Power Bowl

So my household is hooked on quinoa. I am so excited that I could do the happy dance every single time I see my 16.5 mos eat quinoa with such joy when its made for dinner. I love it that she loves it!!!! YAY!!!! So when I came across this recipe on skinnymom – I had to had to had to make it … Besides quinoa, I was so glad to use some kale in this dish …  If you are not a meat eater, I am sure you could use a subsitute and this meal will be just great!

So my household is hooked on quinoa. I am so excited that I could do the happy dance every single time I see my 16.5 mos eat quinoa with such joy when its made for dinner. I love it that she loves it!!!! YAY!!!! So when I came across this recipe on skinnymom - I had to had to had to make it ... Besides quinoa, I was so glad to use some kale in this dish ... If you are not a meat eater, I am sure you could use a subsitute and this meal will be just great!

Summary

    Ingredients

    2, Chicken Breast : cut into chunks
    1 cup Quinoa :
    2 cups Chicken Stock :
    4 tbsps Lemon Juice :
    Cloves : 2 Garlic mashed
    1 tsp Paprika :
    2 cups Carrots : , chopped
    2 cups Kale : worth chopped kale
    2 tbsps Garlic : mashed
    2/3 cup Pesto :
    Crumbled feta – reduced fat is preferred !
    2 cans Fire roasted Tomatoes :
    Olive Oil
    to taste Salt and Pepper

    Steps

    1. In a bowl mix together the chicken breast pieces, lemon juice, the 2 mashed garlic cloves and paprika, set aside to marinate for a little bit while we prep the other things
    2. Combine the quinoa and stock in a pot and bring it to a boil
    3. In another pot, to some olive oil, saute the kale and carrots. Add the 2 tbsp of mashed garlic, and some salt and pepper. Give it about 5mins or so, and then add the chicken breasts and the can of tomatoes. Combine together and allow it to cook
    4. Once the quinoa has cooked add that to the pot, and the pesto, give it a quick stir and serve immediately with some feta cheese
    5. This is what I call a perfect and delicious and healthy meal for a cold night!
    6. 

    Leave a Reply

    