Eggplant with crumbed beef, tomato and mint

It’s been an interesting week here in Wellington, NZ. The week started off with me loosing my voice, figured it might be alright after a night of sleep, but that definitely did not bring it back. By Thursday, I was told I had laryngitis, and was suggested that I probably should not speak much … I mean c’mon seriously … with a 16.5 mos old, that is highly impossible … Friday comes around, I decide to leave work two hours earlier just so I can ‘rest’ my voice without the kid or the husband around, and then a 6.2 earthquake strikes … aye aye aye … so I pretty much drove home, walked up the stairs to the bathroom, the earthquake strikes, I walk down the stairs and headed back to the city to pick up the husband and daughter, went grocery shopping and headed home. Talk about an exciting end to this week. Glad that all is well in our city and everything is well

I made this recipe over a week ago for a week night meal, it was easy and quick to make and above all it tasted great. This recipe inspiration comes from Gluten Free Goddess

It's been an interesting week here in Wellington, NZ. The week started off with me loosing my voice, figured it might be alright after a night of sleep, but that definitely did not bring it back. By Thursday, I was told I had laryngitis, and was suggested that I probably should not speak much ... I mean c'mon seriously ... with a 16.5 mos old, that is highly impossible ... Friday comes around, I decide to leave work two hours earlier just so I can 'rest' my voice without the kid or the husband around, and then a 6.2 earthquake strikes ... aye aye aye ... so I pretty much drove home, walked up the stairs to the bathroom, the earthquake strikes, I walk down the stairs and headed back to the city to pick up the husband and daughter, went grocery shopping and headed home. Talk about an exciting end to this week. Glad that all is well in our city and everything is well

Summary

    Ingredients

    2 Eggplant :
    1 Onion : medium diced
    Ground beef
    cloves : 4 Garlic mashed
    1 tsp Dried Oregano :
    1 tsp Basil :
    1 tsp Thyme :
    1 can Tomatoes :
    2 tbsps Balsamic Vinegar :
    1/2 cup Chicken Broth :
    Olive Oil
    Sprigs : 3 Mint
    to taste Salt
    180 C Preheat the oven to / 375 F

    Steps

    1. Slice the eggplant into circles and lay them on a baking sheet. Drizzle some olive oil, sprinkle salt and pepper and roast in the oven until it is tender and crispy on the outside. Estimated time for this would be 20-30mins
    2. While the eggplant is cooking, saute in the onions in a pan, and once it has softened, add the ground beef and cook it until it has nicely browned
    3. Add the mashed garlic, oregano, basil and thyme and continue cooking. Next add the can of chopped tomatoes, balsamic vinegar, the stock and bring to a simmer. Season with salt and pepper, reduce the heat and cook for 15mins or so until the beef has cooked
    4. In an oven proof dish, or individual gratin dishes, layer the eggplant pieces and top it off with the beef mince
    5. Bake in the oven until it has heated through for about 15mins
    6. Garnish with some chopped mint leaves and serve
    7. A side salad,some brown rice or a pilaf will go great with this dish

    Leave a Reply

    