Meatballs with Couscous

On our recent trip to the states, I watched how Miss.D devoured a meatball during one of our meals there… she loved it so much she kept say ‘mo’ (more) .. I must say that meatball was just amazeballs … it was so yummy and was melting in your mouth

It was a weeknight night in our house when I made her some couscous and served it with some meatballs … She now she eats what I cook for my husband and I. I started doing that when she was 15mos when I watched how she was quickly pushing her plate of food away wanting ours … thanks to her my cooking time is now cut down cause I don’t have to cook special meals for her… If you are a working mum like I am this is perfect for a weeknight

On our recent trip to the states, I watched how Miss.D devoured a meatball during one of our meals there... she loved it so much she kept say 'mo' (more) .. I must say that meatball was just amazeballs ... it was so yummy and was melting in your mouth It was a weeknight night in our house when I made her some couscous and served it with some meatballs ... She now she eats what I cook for my husband and I. I started doing that when she was 15mos when I watched how she was quickly pushing her plate of food away wanting ours ... thanks to her my cooking time is now cut down cause I don't have to cook special meals for her... If you are a working mum like I am this is perfect for a weeknight

Summary

    Ingredients

    1/2 cup Couscous : or more – you can store the leftovers
    1 cup stock :
    Meatballs : I had beef meatballs
    1 Onion : diced
    1 jar Pasta Sauce : whatever you fancy ,
    1 cup Frozen Veggies : Peas , corn , beans , carrot ,
    1/4 cup Raisins :
    to taste Salt and pepper
    Oil

    Steps

    1. To some heated oil, add the onions and saute until they have softened. Next add in the meat balls and allow it to brown up on the outside and cook through … I gave maybe 5-7mins, and then added the frozen veggies, raisins and the jar of tomato sauce. Season with salt and pepper
    2. I put the lid on it, so that everything especially the meatballs could cook through.Turn the flame down to medium low
    3. While the meatballs were cooking, I brought a cup of stock to a boil, and added the couscous, put a lid on it and turned off the heat. The couscous will take a few mins and will be ready to serve, don’t mush it with a spoon, fluff it
    4. I walked away from the stove to give D a bath and let her play a bit and she was ready to dig into dinner when it was served. When it is time to serve, add some couscous to the plate or bowl, and top it with a meatball, some sauce, and include the raisins and the veggies.

    The photo you see has chopped mint leaves in it, cause that was the adults plate of food haha … could not get a kids version!

    This is actually a great family meal that everyone will enjoy too

    Leave a Reply

    