Cauliflower Pizza Base

I have been waiting for ages to make a pizza base out of cauliflower! Life and my busy schedule and a holiday in the middle of that had this delayed, so I could only get to it a week ago. I was pleasantly surprised by the outcome. I have read reviews of how the base fell apart or was sticky. I was happy that I did not experience that, and I really hope you don’t after trying this recipe. This is a Paleo and Gluten Free recipe. Please don’t expect a bread like crust like a usual pizza, this recipe is all about cheating with the bread base while sticking to the essential pizza flavours … definitely low carb and less calories… woo hoo!

  • Servings: 2-serving
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

I have been waiting for ages to make a pizza base out of cauliflower! Life and my busy schedule and a holiday in the middle of that had this delayed, so I could only get to it a week ago. I was pleasantly surprised by the outcome. I have read reviews of how the base fell apart or was sticky. I was h

Summary

  • Cuisine: italian american
  • Course: main course
  • Cooking Time: 20 mins

Ingredients

2 1/2 Cups raw cauliflower , grated
1 egg
1/4 Cup Mozzarella cheese
2 Tablespoons Parmesan Cheese
1/4 Teaspoon Basil , dried
1/4 Teaspoon Oregano , dried
To Taste salt
To Taste Pepper

Steps

  1. Preheat the oven to 210C / 425F
  2. Grate a whole cauliflower. I used a hand grater, a food processor will be quicker if you are doubling this recipe. Place the grated cauliflower in a bowl and microwave for 5 mins or until soft.
  3. Transfer the cauliflower to a large mixing bowl, and add the rest of the ingredients: egg, cheese, dried spices, salt and pepper. Give it a good stir, and you should have a reasonably stiff dough.
  4. Transfer the cauliflower dough on to a baking sheet lined with baking paper.
  5. Pat it out into a large circle. I used my hands and made 1/2 inch thick. Bake in the oven for 15-20mins until firm.
  6. Top your pizza with your favorite toppings. I used chicken, capsicum, olives, and even spinach, all of these were cooked prior to adding on the base. Add some grated cheese and pop it back in the oven to cook until the cheese has melted. Definitely making this one at home again.

2 comments

Leave a Reply

