Orange Chicken

Life has suddenly gotten really full … not sure if that has anything to do with Christmas being exactly 50 days (today!). Besides working full time, my evenings are full taking care of Miss 19mos old, doing household chores, planning for upcoming gatherings at my place ( I have no free weekend LOL) and this new business I got my hands and feet into… totally wishing there was more than 24 hours in a day. But in spite of all the craziness, I must cook so that the family can eat. I made this dish for a weeknight meal

This dish has a few steps, so its definitely not a 30min or less meal for a week night especially if you are working… but I enjoyed having to pause everything else so that I can make this meal. This is a dish you can order at a chinese take away, however if you make it at home its oh so much better in a lot of ways

Life has suddenly gotten really full ... not sure if that has anything to do with Christmas being exactly 50 days (today!). Besides working full time, my evenings are full taking care of Miss 19mos old, doing household chores, planning for upcoming gatherings at my place ( I have no free weekend LOL) and this new business I got my hands and feet into... totally wishing there was more than 24 hours in a day. But in spite of all the craziness, I must cook so that the family can eat. I made this dish for a weeknight meal

Summary

    Ingredients

    2 1 inchs Chicken Breasts cut into pieces
    2 eggs
    1 cup oil
    1 cup cornstarch + 2 tbsp
    2 cups of frozen veggies (Asian stirfry kind)
    /or Sesame seeds, coriander leaves andspring onions for garnish
    Marinade:
    1/2 cup orange juice (freshly squeezed please)
    1 cup chicken stock
    1 tbsp orange zest
    1/2 cup sugar
    1/3 cup vinegar
    1/4 cup soy sauce
    3 cloves garlic mashed
    1/2 inch piece ginger mashed
    1 tsp Sriracha sauce
    Pepper
    Marinade In a bowl mix together the ingredients listed under the section

    Steps

    1. Take 2/3 cups of the marinade and mix with the diced chicken pieces. Allow this to marinate for atleast 30mins
    2. When it is marinating, you can cook some rice. I went with white as I was lazy. My first choice would have been some brown rice
    3. Heat the remaining marinade in a saucepan over medium heat. Once it has come to a boil, stir in the cornstarch mixture (2 tbsp of cornstarch mixed with 2 tbsp water). Once it has thickened, which should take a minute or two, remove from the heat, but keep it warm
    4. Once the 30mins is up, its time to start frying the chicken! Drain the chicken from the marinade, make sure you throw the liquid away
    5. Dip the chicken pieces in the beaten egg, then coat it well with the corn starch and fry the chicken pieces until they are golden brown. Once cooked, placed them on a couple of kitchen towels to drain the excess oil
    6. In a large pan, add the 2 cups of frozen veggies to some oil. Once it starts to soften, add the chicken pieces and the marinade. Have the heat on low and mix well so that the sauce coats the
    7. chicken pieces and veggies. Once done, serve it with some rice
    8. Garnish with sesame seeds, freshly chopped coriander leaves and/or spring onions

    Leave a Reply

    