The Indian Macaroni

A few years ago when I arrived in Wellington, a family invited us for lunch. I had moved from the States, so every Indian in town thought I don’t eat Indian food and I can’t cook anything especially Indian! I still feel a lot think the same way in spite of the blog. But anyways, this family had this amazing spread of Indian food made for K, and then they brought out this bowl of macaroni cooked in Indian spices for me. It was hilarious, cause in all honesty I wanted to try the Indian food … I ended up probably disappointing the lady who cooked cause I took a tablespoon worth of macaroni, and I shocked the life out of them when I could not just eat the Indian food but knew what each dish was called

We make pasta at home a lot, so when I was going to make something with the macaroni I had in the pantry, I decided to Indianize it! LOL … Hope you enjoy this spicy version!

A few years ago when I arrived in Wellington, a family invited us for lunch. I had moved from the States, so every Indian in town thought I don't eat Indian food and I can't cook anything especially Indian! I still feel a lot think the same way in spite of the blog. But anyways, this family had this amazing spread of Indian food made for K, and then they brought out this bowl of macaroni cooked in Indian spices for me. It was hilarious, cause in all honesty I wanted to try the Indian food ... I ended up probably disappointing the lady who cooked cause I took a tablespoon worth of macaroni, and I shocked the life out of them when I could not just eat the Indian food but knew what each dish was called We make pasta at home a lot, so when I was going to make something with the macaroni I had in the pantry, I decided to Indianize it! LOL ... Hope you enjoy this spicy version!

Summary

    Ingredients

    1 onion diced
    1 can diced tomatoes
    2 green chillies minced
    1 tbsp garlic paste
    1 tbsp ginger paste
    sprig of A curry leaves
    1/2 tsp mustard seeds
    1/2 tsp cumin seeds
    1 tsp turmeric powder
    1 tbsp garam masala
    1 tsp coriander powder
    2 or 3 cups cooked macaroni
    1/2 cup peas
    to taste Salt and pepper
    2 tbsps oil
    Handful of freshly chopped coriander leaves

    Steps

    1. To some heated oil, add the mustard seeds, cumin seeds and curry leaves
    2. Once the mustard seeds start popping add the onion, ginger and garlic pastes and sauté until the onions have softened
    3. After a few mins, add the curry powders, the can of tomatoes and the peas. Season with some salt and pepper and allow it to cook on low. Let the sauce cook till the smell of the curry powders get aromatic
    4. Finally add the cooked macaroni and mix well to combine. Season with salt again if needed
    5. Transfer the Indian macaroni to a bowl and garnish with some chopped coriander leaves
    6. Serve straight away!

    Leave a Reply

    