Chicken Fried Rice

As the year comes to an end, I haven’t really had a lot of ‘free and relaxing’ weekends … There is always something happening!!! but yet instead of getting take aways, I make the time to cook for the family. I made this recipe over the weekend and as most Sunday lunches this turned out to be great 🙂 Super easy as I like it with not a lot of ingredients for a busy mum like me! Enjoy!

As the year comes to an end, I haven't really had a lot of 'free and relaxing' weekends ... There is always something happening!!! but yet instead of getting take aways, I make the time to cook for the family. I made this recipe over the weekend and as most Sunday lunches this turned out to be great 🙂 Super easy as I like it with not a lot of ingredients for a busy mum like me! Enjoy!

Summary

    Ingredients

    2 cups worth of diced chicken pieces
    1 cup of mixed veggies (carrots, beans, peas, corn …)
    3 cups cooked white rice
    1 tbsp ginger paste
    1 tbsp garlic paste
    1 large onion sliced
    2 tsps soy sauce
    2 tsps tomato sauce
    1 – 2 tsps chilli sauce
    1 cup of spring onions, chopped
    to taste Salt and pepper
    2 tbsps oil

    Steps

    1. Saute the onion along with the ginger and garlic paste in some heated oil. Next add the chicken pieces and let it cook
    2. When it was 75% cooked, I added the cup of veggies. I used frozen to save on time, but you can definitely use fresh veggies. Giving a couple of minutes, then add the soy, tomato and chilli sauce
    3. Let the veggies and the chicken cook in this sauce. The sauce soon will start to thicken and get all bubbly
    4. Slowly add the cooked rice and mix gently to combine well. Season with salt and pepper and toss in the spring onions as well
    5. Serve straight away. This rice is great just as, or you can make a side dish like I did 🙂 I served it with a Gobi Manchurian – check this link for the recipe I shared in 2011 🙂

    Leave a Reply

    