Coconut Puffs

Its 2014! Happy New Year everybody … Hope you had a grand celebration wherever you are!Today (3 Jan 2014) been quite windy here in Wellington, NZ (110K+ winds apparently this morning) and we’ve had lots and lots of rain … so its a pretty cold day for summer! I was at work though so cant really complain about being drenched and cold as I was indoors 🙂 … But, once I was home, I felt like making something warm, but yet sweet for our chai. My mind wandered off to the freezer section and I realized I had two ingredients that I could put together and boom! Coconut Puffs were ready in about 45mins

If you don’t have store bought puff pastry in your area, you can make it at home. I obviously could not be bothered by making it or waiting for it be ready lol

If you are after a sweet snack I am sure you will enjoy this one

Its 2014! Happy New Year everybody ... Hope you had a grand celebration wherever you are!Today (3 Jan 2014) been quite windy here in Wellington, NZ (110K+ winds apparently this morning) and we've had lots and lots of rain ... so its a pretty cold day for summer! I was at work though so cant really complain about being drenched and cold as I was indoors 🙂 ... But, once I was home, I felt like making something warm, but yet sweet for our chai. My mind wandered off to the freezer section and I realized I had two ingredients that I could put together and boom! Coconut Puffs were ready in about 45mins If you don't have store bought puff pastry in your area, you can make it at home. I obviously could not be bothered by making it or waiting for it be ready lol If you are after a sweet snack I am sure you will enjoy this one

Summary

    Ingredients

    1/4 cup melted butter
    2 sheets of store bough puff pastry sheets
    pastry sheets
    1/2 cups all purpose flour
    gms + 2 unsalted butter cut into cubes tbsps
    1/2 cups water  
    2 tsps fine grain salt
    Filling :
    cup shredded coconut (I used frozen)
    2 cups sugar
    tbsp water
    tsp cinnamon powder
    tsp cardamom powder

    Steps

    1. Preheat the oven to 180C
    2. If you are making the puff pastry at home. Sift the flour and salt into a bowl and put the flour bowl in the fridge for 15mins to chill
    3. Next add the cubed butter into the flour mixture and mix until it is well coated with flour. Add the water and quickly mix it together to form a rough dough
    4. Knead the dough on a lightly floured surface and wrap in cling wrap and allow it to chill for another 15mins
    5. Back to the floured surface and roll the dough out until its 1cm thick. Fold the bottom third of the pastry up and then the top third down. Flip the dough over and press the edges of the pastry together with the rolling pin
    6. Do this whole rolling out and folding pastry procedure 3 or 4 times until your get a smooth dough with buttery streaks here and there. Chill the pastry for an hour before use
    7. Mix the filling ingredients in a pot and cook over low heat until all the sugar has dissolved. Put a tablespoon worth in the centre of the puff pastry sheet and fold in half. Seal the edges by pressing it in at the end. Make sure you seal the edges well, otherwise the filling will come out
    8. Place the filled puff pastry sheets on a baking sheet covered in wax paper and brush each with some melted butter
    9. Bake until it is golden brown
    10. Serve immediately with some home made cardamom chai… YUM!

    Leave a Reply

    