Mexican Pizza

I usually drink a banana-strawberry smoothie at work for lunch (yes I have my blender in the office! LOL). So after I get home, I look forward to dinner and I enjoy making new things even on a weeknight. We buy tortillas and black beans often, and I either make wraps or quesadilla with them, so layering one after the other and making a pizza sounded different and awesome 🙂

I also decided to make this vegetarian, however you can add any meat of your preference. It was complete and filling just as AND when K took a whole tortilla pizza for lunch the next day to work, his work mate thought it was STORE BOUGHT! how cool is that 🙂

I usually drink a banana-strawberry smoothie at work for lunch (yes I have my blender in the office! LOL). So after I get home, I look forward to dinner and I enjoy making new things even on a weeknight. We buy tortillas and black beans often, and I either make wraps or quesadilla with them, so layering one after the other and making a pizza sounded different and awesome 🙂

Summary

    Ingredients

    8 tortillas
    1 red onion chopped
    1 can Black Beans drained
    1 1/2 cups of shredded cheddar cheese
    1/2 cup salsa
    2 green chillies chopped , or go with the canned green chiles
    Handful of freshly chopped cilantro
    Oil
    180 C Preheat the oven to

    Steps

    1. On a baking tray lined with wax paper, place a tortilla and ‘puncture’ it with a fork, sprinkle with cheese (generous amount!) and place another tortilla on top of that. I could fit 4 tortillas on my baking tray. Bake until it is lightly browned
    2. When the tortillas were in the oven, heat some olive in a pan and saute the chopped onions until it has softened. Next add the whole can of black beans and gently mash it with your spatula
    3. Once the tortillas are done, spread the black bean mixture evenly, add the salsa, green chiles and sprinkle some more cheese and the chopped cilantro
    4. Pop it back in the oven for a few minutes until the cheese has melted
    5. Serve straight away 🙂
    6. Recipe Inspiration: www.shewearsmanyhats.com

    Leave a Reply

    