Pumpkin Hummus

I love hummus a LOT! I make hummus a LOT at home too … I guess my love for hummus comes from growing up in the middle east and eating lots and lots of it quite frequently. I like making it at home  because of the authentic flavour that supermarket kinds tend to miss … It always humors me seeing the variety of hummus at the supermarkets … aubergine, carrots, spinach type hummus … I like their taste but  have always stuck to my authentic original kind of hummus. My husband had bought a fairly large size pumpkin a few weeks ago, after using it in  few recipes, I still a good chunk left, so I decided to make some Pumpkin hummus …. After making it, I decided to use it in a meal idea, so this post has TWO recipes

Read on

I love hummus a LOT! I make hummus a LOT at home too ... I guess my love for hummus comes from growing up in the middle east and eating lots and lots of it quite frequently. I like making it at home because of the authentic flavour that supermarket kinds tend to miss ... It always humors me seeing the variety of hummus at the supermarkets ... aubergine, carrots, spinach type hummus ... I like their taste but have always stuck to my authentic original kind of hummus. My husband had bought a fairly large size pumpkin a few weeks ago, after using it in few recipes, I still a good chunk left, so I decided to make some Pumpkin hummus .... After making it, I decided to use it in a meal idea, so this post has TWO recipes Read on

Summary

    Ingredients

    2 cups cooked pumpkin
    1.5 tbsps tahini
    1 clove garlic
    1/2 Teaspoon chili powder
    to taste Salt
    Drizzle of Olive Oil

    Steps

    1. Put all of the above mentioned ingredients excluding olive oil in a blender, and blend until its smooth
    2. Pour the hummus into a bowl and mix it up with some olive oil. Serve it with some pita bread and meat OR pita chips and crackers ORRRRRRRRRRR do what I did! Make Pumpkin Quesadillas
    3. We are a quesadilla family, so you are sure to find a pack of tortillas in the fridge … take a tortilla, put a generous amount of hummus, add a decent amount of cheddar, fold lengthwise and place it on a well greased griddle
    4. Give it a couple of minutes on each side and once brown, remove from the heat and cut into triangles … The pumpkin hummus will ooze out, so be gentle as you slice through the quesadillas
    5. Garnish with coriander leaves or spring onion
    6. SERVE immediately

    Leave a Reply

    