Blueberry Coconut Tart

I’ve had desserts on my mind lately – I eat a decent amount of it often, but never really get around to making some. I wanted to make use of the berries in season and have been thinking of making a tart for a while now, so I combined those two and I went with coconut milk for the filling! Very different from a custard type filling 🙂

I like how it turned out in terms of taste, but I lovveee how it ended up looking. Super simple to make, and it will look good on the table and people will be very surprised when they find out what the filling is!

I've had desserts on my mind lately - I eat a decent amount of it often, but never really get around to making some. I wanted to make use of the berries in season and have been thinking of making a tart for a while now, so I combined those two and I went with coconut milk for the filling! Very different from a custard type filling 🙂 I like how it turned out in terms of taste, but I lovveee how it ended up looking. Super simple to make, and it will look good on the table and people will be very surprised when they find out what the filling is!

Summary

    Ingredients

    pastry sheet
    1 punnet of blue berries
    1 can coconut milk
    1/4 cup cornstarch
    1/2 cup sugar
    1/4 tsp vanilla

    Steps

    1. Place the pastry sheet in the tart pan and bake it until it is done. It won’t take too long, so don’t wander off and watch TV for 30mins!Once done, let the base cool in room temperate
    2. In a saucepan, mix the coconut milk, cornstarch, sugar and vanilla.  Turn the heat to medium, and whisk until the filling thickens. This should take about 5-6mins. Once thickened, transfer to a bowl and allow it to cool
    3. Once the base and the filling are cooled, spoon the coconut filling into the base and top it with the blue berries. Place it in the fridge for a couple of hours before serving

    Leave a Reply

    