Very Berry Cream Cake

I came across this recipe on a TV show called Kiwi Baker in California. Dean Brettschneider who is a judge on one of my favourite food shows (New Zealand’s hottest home bakers) put this together and I honestly drooled all over the couch while watching it

From my Kuwait readers, this cake reminded me of a fruit cream cake you get in the local bakeries like Mr Baker or even Caesars. Back home its covered in almonds as well. Absolutely yum!

I made this a few weeks ago and saved it to share it today as the blog turns 4 years old today! It’s been a very interesting ride from the time it began. I remember being extremely bored when I first got here. The life and culture in NZ is so different from the US and I actually missed being busy (yes I am very weird LOL). I also enjoyed cooking and was getting a bit tired of hearing fellow Indians say that I probably don’t know how to cook as I was not raised in India. 🙂 Soon after the blog began, that comment started to slowly disappear and I don’t hear it frequently anymore

Thought I would share a few of my highlights

My first post was a Potato and Carrot Curry

The 100th post was a biryani which is K’s favourite Indian meal – Mutton Biryani

I blogged when my daughter D was 2.5 weeks. I remember missing blogging and needed a change from the constant feeding, burping and, baby laundry – so I left the baby with mum for a little and baked this Banana, Date and Walnut Loaf. This made a perfect afternoon tea for mum and I

Thanks for following me on my food journey! 🙂 I enjoy posting recipes for you to try. Going through the recipes I know I have grown a lot in the way I cook, blog and even take pics haha … It will be great if you can get your friends to LIKE the facebook page

On to the recipe!

I came across this recipe on a TV show called Kiwi Baker in California. Dean Brettschneider who is a judge on one of my favourite food shows (New Zealand's hottest home bakers) put this together and I honestly drooled all over the couch while watching it

Summary

    Ingredients

    Sponge cake –
    4 eggs
    125 gms castor sugar
    125 gms plain sugar
    50 gms melted butter
    Drops of vanilla essence
    190 C Preheat oven to

    Steps

    1. Whisk together the eggs and sugar. Carefully fold in the flour and then the melted butter and mix well. Don’t over mix the batter
    2. Pour the batter into a well greased 20cm round cake tin and bake for approx 30mins
    3. Once baked, allow it to cool completely and then remove from the cake tin. Cut into three or four equal layers and set aside
    4. Filling –
    5. 00 ml cream
    6. 50 gms sugar
    7. 1 tsp vanilla extract
    8. Approx 750gms worth of fruits like raspberries, strawberries, blueberries and kiwis. I chopped the strawberries and kiwis
    9. Whip the cream and then add the sugar and vanilla extract and mix it all up
    10. Place the last layer of the sponge cake on a cake stand, add a geneorous amount of whipped cream. Spread it evenly and then add the fruits
    11. Continue doing this with the rest of the layers. Sponge, topped with whip and then the fruits. Make sure you press the sponge down lightly before adding the whip
    12. Finally spread the entire cake with freshly whipped cream. I should be a bit more patient next time while doing this so I have a cleaner finish lol
    13. Cover the top with more fruits. Refrigerate for a couple of hours and then serve
    14. A friend of mine made a tropical fruit version and grated white chocolate on top – it was absolutely YUM!

    Leave a Reply

    