Lemon Pudding Cake

I realised that I don’t blog a lot of sweet stuff, its always savoury, so couple of weeks ago when I was menu planning I decided to make this pudding for the blog. K and I had eaten this at someone’s house a while ago, and he loved it that he went in for a second serving, so I didn’t think twice about making it.  I knew it would be a hit as long as it turned out right and I was so glad it did!

Its been getting colder and colder here in New Zealand and warm desserts are just perfect for a chilly day 🙂  K and I enjoyed every bit of it and we did not share it with the two year old … Its not an extremly sweet dessert so if you don’t like much sugar, this will be perfect

If you try this out, let me know!

I realised that I don't blog a lot of sweet stuff, its always savoury, so couple of weeks ago when I was menu planning I decided to make this pudding for the blog. K and I had eaten this at someone's house a while ago, and he loved it that he went in for a second serving, so I didn't think twice about making it. I knew it would be a hit as long as it turned out right and I was so glad it did!

Summary

    Ingredients

    3 large eggs seperated
    3 tbsps softened butter
    3/4 cup sugar
    1/2 cup lemon juice
    1 tbsp lemon zest
    1/4 cup all purpose flour
    1 cup milk
    1/8 tsp cream of tartar
    1/8 tsp salt
    1 tsp vanilla extract

    Steps

    1. Preheat the oven to 160C
    2. In a bowl beat together the butter, 1/2 cup sugar and the zest. Then add in the egg yolks
    3. one at a time and continue beating away. Flour, salt and the vanilla go in next
    4. Finally lemon juice and milk. The batter will be runny … so don’t freak out!
    5. Take another large bowl, and beat the egg whites until soft peaks form. Add the remaining sugar (1/4 cup), and the cream of tartar and continue beating it until you get stiff peaks
    6. Slowly mix the egg whites into the batter and mix well to combine
    7. Pour this batter into a well greased baking dish
    8. I then placed this dish into a large baking dish and filled it with boiling water until it reached
    9. halfway up the outside of the batter dish (hope that made sense haha)
    10. Bake in the oven for about an hour. The top will brown a bit and the cake won’t be very jiggly
    11. Allow the cake to cool for the next hour before serving as it helps the cake to settle. I was SO impatient, but waited for the hour while I focused on some household chores  .. 🙂 YAY!
    12. I sprinkled it with powdered sugar and served.  It was warm, lemony and just lovely!

    Leave a Reply

    