Kadai Gosht Mutton

I hope you have been enjoying the food journey this week! We have had salmon, chicken, vegetarian and today I thought something Indian would be appropriate. I know I haven’t blogged about anything Indian for a real long time – we rarely eat it these days and if I ever cook it, its cause someone is coming home or I do it as a treat for the weekend! πŸ™‚

I made this curry weeeeeeeeks ago and it turned out great. I have also included the link to the Kadai chicken recipe I blogged in the start of the year at the bottom of this post. So if you don’t prefer mutton, chicken tasted pretty amazing too. The recipe has real basic ingredients, the only thing you will need to make, unless you find it in an indian store is the Kadai masala

Almost at the end of the week here… I hope it has been a good one for you!

I hope you have been enjoying the food journey this week! We have had salmon, chicken, vegetarian and today I thought something Indian would be appropriate. I know I haven't blogged about anything Indian for a real long time - we rarely eat it these days and if I ever cook it, its cause someone is coming home or I do it as a treat for the weekend! πŸ™‚ I made this curry weeeeeeeeks ago and it turned out great. I have also included the link to the Kadai chicken recipe I blogged in the start of the year at the bottom of this post. So if you don't prefer mutton, chicken tasted pretty amazing too. The recipe has real basic ingredients, the only thing you will need to make, unless you find it in an indian store is the Kadai masala Almost at the end of the week here... I hope it has been a good one for you!

Summary

    Ingredients

    500 gms of Goat/Lamb
    1 large onion diced
    4 large tomatoes sliced
    2 tbsps of ginger paste
    2 tbsps of garlic paste
    2 green chile slit lengthwise
    1/4 tsp turmeric
    1 tsp chilly powder
    1/2 cup Yogurt
    1 cup worth of Fresh mint chopped
    1 cup worth of fresh coriander chopped
    to taste salt
    1 tbsp oil
    2 tbsps Kadai Masala
    Kadai Masala Ingredients:
    6 Dry Red chilli
    1/2 tsp pepper corns
    1/4 tsp fennel seeds
    1/4 tsp cumin seeds
    1 tbsp Coriander Seeds
    1/2 tsp dry fenugreek leaves

    Steps

    1. First up we shall make the kadai masala: Heat a non stick pan, and add all the ingredients of the kadai masala excluding the fenugreek leaves and roast for a few minutes. When everything is well roasted, add the dry fenugreek leaves, give it a stir and remove from the heat
    2. Give it a few minutes to cool, then grind into a coarse powder and set aside
    3. Heat some oil in a separate pan, and then add the goat/lamb and cook it till its brown
    4. Next add the turmeric, onions, ginger and garlic pastes, and the tomatoes and season with salt
    5. Cook on medium low for about 40mins so that the meat is cooked through. Then add the rest of the ingredients: kadai masala, yogurt, chile, chile powder, chopped coriander and the mint. Give it all a good stir and let it cook for a few more mins and remove from the heat
    6. Serve hot with some freshly made rice

    Not a lamb/goat fan? then try this Kadai chicken recipe that I had blogged about at the start of the year. [http://cucumbertown.com/kadai-chicken-recipe-15738-dish](http://cucumbertown.com/kadai-chicken-recipe-15738-dish)CLICK HERE

    Leave a Reply

    