Stuffed Chicken Buns

I enjoy baking when its been a full on week of work/life … and I was having one of those full on MONTHs !!!! So to relax I decided to bake! and I have been wanting to try these stuffed buns recipe for aggggggggggggggggggges but my crazy schedule never permitted it!!!  However about a week ago, I really needed to pause and do something enjoyable and I decided to BAKE!

I have tried my best to explain the steps involved easily, but if you have got questions, do let me know

The filling can be easily changed to vegetarian or cheese…. I have blogged about a Stuffed Cheese Bun recipe before … if you want that recipe CLICK HERE!

On to the recipe!

I enjoy baking when its been a full on week of work/life ... and I was having one of those full on MONTHs !!!! So to relax I decided to bake! and I have been wanting to try these stuffed buns recipe for aggggggggggggggggggges but my crazy schedule never permitted it!!! However about a week ago, I really needed to pause and do something enjoyable and I decided to BAKE!

Summary

    Ingredients

    The Bun
    1 tbsp Active Dry Yeast
    1 tbsp warm water
    1/2 cup milk
    to taste Salt
    1/2 cup canola oil
    2 1/4 cups all purpose flour
    2 tbsps sugar
    1 egg beaten
    Chicken Stuffing
    1 1.2 cups cooked and shredded chicken (breast)
    1 medium onion chopped fine
    1 tsp garlic paste
    1 tsp ginger paste
    1.5 tsps coriander powder
    1/4 tsp garam masala powder
    1/4 tsp cumin powder / seeds should be fine too
    a pinch of chilli powder
    to taste salt
    1/2 tsp oil
    1 egg white for egg wash
    White sesame seeds

    Steps

    1. Lets get into the steps:
    2. First up dissolve the yeast in the water.Set aside for 10 mins to do its thing
    3. Next, warm the milk. To it add the sugar, oil and salt. Mix well so the sugar dissolves
    4. Take a large bowl, add the flour. Add the warm milk to it, followed by the beaten egg and the yeast mixture. Mix well so it is all well combined and you have a smooth dough
    5. Knead for 10 mins and allow it to rest for an hour or so. The dough should double in size
    6. While I was waiting I made the filling!
    7. Saute the onion, garlic and ginger pastes in some oil. Reduce the heat to low and all the masala powders: coriander, chilli, garam masala and cumin. If you are using cumin seeds add it with the onions
    8. Finally add the shredded cooked chicken breast. season with salt and mix well to combine. Let this remain on the heat for 3mins, after which let it cool down
    9. Once we are ready to make these buns. Preheat the oven to 200C/400 F
    10. Punch down the big ball of dough and then divide it into dough balls – I got about
    11. Flatten each dough ball, and fill it with a tbsp worth or slightly more of chicken filling. Seal the ends and re-shape into a ball
    12. Its super easy trust me! Place the dough balls on a baking tray lined with baking paper
    13. Brush each of them with egg wash and sprinkle the sesame seeds. Let it sit on the tray for 15mins and then pop it in the oven for about 12 mins
    14. Keep an eye on the buns as they brown up quickly!
    15. Serve them warm!

    Leave a Reply

    